Defence Force Reserves

Hi All.

Lately I have been seriously thinking about joining the Army Reserves, I would like the challenge and could also assist with my Electrical Trade and Emergency Medical Experience.
With my FIFO roster it would suit quite well too.

Anybody part of the reserves that wants to share their insights?
Or perhaps someone knows a Friend who does it?

Wirra

Hi All.

Lately I have been seriously thinking about joining the Army Reserves, I would like the challenge and could also assist with my Electrical Trade and Emergency Medical Experience.

Wirra

If you are young with little commitment, do it!!

You are serving your country

Hi Wirra

I was a member of Norforce when living up North and kept with it for a couple of years until I commenced a new job and it conflicted with that

I went with a large group from various small regional areas to Darwin for training and stayed at Larrakeyah barracks. A lot of training in the bush was out at the edge of Arnhem Land

Norforce had smaller teams than the larger units in the city which also suited

I was in for 10 years and enjoyed it. Made lots of great friends I still have today. A great way to develop yourself as a man and be exposed to strong male role models (that basically doesn't happen these days, predominately female teachers and all that).

The role of our Army though has changed since WW1/WW2, so do keep that in mind. Personally I have a lot of friends who are taxpayer funded security guards for US corporations in the Middle East... not cool. Others are doing great work in the Solomons and so forth.

Give it a go, you can always leave if it's not for you.

I'd think twice about doing your trade. Often those specialists don't get as much opportunity for all the adventurous stuff you might be after.

Why don't you explore being a Combat Medic in one of the Arms Corps units. Maybe an Infantry Battalion, Armoured Regiment or a Combat Engineer Regiment.

Personally, with my Army experience, I'd be looking at one of those three types of unit.

I believe the Navy Reserve is focused on ex Sailors and the RAAF reserve wouldn't appeal to me at all, I don't look good in a skirt ;)

Heaps of good info everyone :)

I was happy to assist with my trade, but if that does limit my Field Exposure as "simon" says, than yeah I am definitely better doing the Medical Side of things, I enjoy that side of things very much.

Im also looking for extra fitness, meet new people and hopefully to get to see some sights around Oz or even overseas maybe?

Part timers wouldnt get deployed o/s would they?

Specific reserves with needed skills get deployed if they are keen.

I believe once the high tempo operations of the last 15 years kicked off then the Solomon Island Deployments became very much a Reserve thing. That's a huge step forward from my days in the Army where reserves didn't get much opportunity at all.

I'd think twice about doing your trade. Often those specialists don't get as much opportunity for all the adventurous stuff you might be after.

Why don't you explore being a Combat Medic in one of the Arms Corps units. Maybe an Infantry Battalion, Armoured Regiment or a Combat Engineer Regiment.

Personally, with my Army experience, I'd be looking at one of those three types of unit.

I believe the Navy Reserve is focused on ex Sailors and the RAAF reserve wouldn't appeal to me at all, I don't look good in a skirt ;)

+1 for combat medic. I have a cousin who does this and loves it.

She also volunteers as an ambo in rural areas when needed too.

She has helped out in flood/fire situations in Oz but no OS work so far.

Whats your FIFO roster and how does it fit?

Volunteer Bush-fire Brigade, SES, Army Reserves etc all expect a regular attendance

Hi All.

Wirra

I say DO IT!

Great experience!

I remember as a kid I was in the boy scout movement. We had great fun camping, till one day the scout master said we all had take turns sharing his sleeping bag:eek:

So we decided to hang him by the ankles (I think we used a round turn with two half hitches), took his wallet and wentand found a bottle shop.:D

Needless to say we never received any merit awards:mad:

I say DO IT!

Great experience!

I remember as a kid I was in the boy scout movement. We had great fun camping, till one day the scout master said we all had take turns sharing his sleeping bag:eek:

So we decided to hang him by the ankles (I think we used a round turn with two half hitches), took his wallet and wentand found a bottle shop.:D

Needless to say we never received any merit awards:mad:

That's shocking :eek:

You should have used a double bowline

Hi All.
Wirra

Not sure about your age and background but I am sure you will learn new things about yourself and new skills if you do volunteer.
As others have suggested a role in RAEME (Royal Australian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers) is likely to be put forward as you have a trade qualification....this is OK but it is generally a support position and you do not get out bush as much.
Medics are often same, same - unless you have certified skills in EM.
Then you would likely be in demand in many different roles.

Go and do it - ask lots of questions, be fit, be keen, be a volunteer for everything.....and learn the skills and process of the Army.
You will get great training and learn new skills.
And often make life long friends.

I was lucky enough to have 14 years of regular army and reserve experience after completing a civilian mechanical trade.
This allowed me a larger range of opportunities as I was able to transfer from RAEME to RAInfantry in specialised roles.

It is not for everyone but I do recommend you explore it if you are interested.

Good luck.

Hi All.

Wirra

If you're looking for a reserve unit, make sure you check the recruiting website to see what units are currently open for reserves, and their locations. It also varies dramatically depending on what's considered a priority.

One thing you'll find out once you join up, the ideas most people have about military service are often far different to the reality. It's hard to explain until you're in. There are some really amazing opportunities though, depending on your unit and how keen you are.

OK if you really want to be a choco I would go the following routes:

Firstly. Be a enlisted man if you want adventure. Be an Officer if you want a very small amount of leadership experience.

Secondly, join the following Corps if you want to be deployed or join large scale multinational exercises: RAEME as a vehicle mech or electrician, RASigs as a technician or IS expert.

Thirdly, don't go to these Corps if you don't like being dicked around: Infantry.

There's no such thing as artillery anymore, as they are just Mortars. Armoured is PMVs.

Anyway enjoy