Depreciation Deductions

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on the forum and was hoping that someone could help me.... I'm a bit confused!

My husband and I purchased a property in 2007 (the property was built in the late 1970s) and lived in it as our PPOR until July 2010. Over this period we completed major renovations throughout the property... new kitchen, bathrooms, complete repainting, flooring etc. Most of the renovations were upgrades (eg. glass splashbacks rather than tiles, caesarstone benchtops rather than laminate).

I have kept every last receipt from the renovation and so know exactly how much everything cost. We did not pay many tradespeople as my husband is an amazing handyman and completed most of the renovations himself.

We ended up moving interstate in July 2010 and put the property on the market (for sale) in August 2010. Nothing really happened and so we put the property up for rent in Jan 2011 and tenants moved in shortly after.

I am just doing our tax returns and am confused with the depreciation deduction/capital works. As I understand, we can claim a capital works deduction for fixed items such as tiling, bath, tapware, toilets etc. at 2.5% per year (up to 40 years) based on the cost of the item (which I have receipts for).

With the capital works deductions does it matter that the items were upgrades to what was in the property prior to the renovations taking place?

Since the tenants have been in the property we had to replace the heating unit and as I understand we can claim a decline in value deduction for this cost over an effective life of 20 years.