DIY Renovations

Hey guys.

I'm settling on a property in 2 weeks and am looking at doing some reno's. My mum is encouraging me to throw money at every tradie imaginable for the work (she has already chased quotes from painters, sanders, and tree loppers) but I am hoping to do the bulk of the work myself to save some cash. I was wondering which of these jobs you would recommend paying for an expert, and which I could probably do myself no hassles. Or if you've done them yourself before, brief me on your experience?

The main one I am unsure about is the floorboard sanding and polishing. I've received quotes around $35/sqm, whereas If I hire the equipment and do it myself, I'm thinking it will be around $600 to DIY. A hefty saving. But a lot of people say it is ridiculously hard work?

These are the following works I have planned:

- Tree lopping, gardening, landscaping etc.
- Pulling down an old falling apart patio
- Sand and polish existing floorboards
- Bedroom carpeting
- New doors, windows and security screens throughout.
- Interior & Exterior painting.
- New Kitchen
- New Bathroom

Thanks alot :)

What experience do you have? What skills etc?

Don't day carpet. Will look rubbish and cost about the same.

Only use a chain saw and do tree lopping if you've got skills in that area otherwise you are asking for trouble (this coming from someone that diy'd that and ended up having a tree fall on my neighbours shed and causing thousands in damage).

As for painting that's easy. Anyone that can do that. If plastering as well then u might need some skills.

Demolition work is also easy. Make sure u wear a mask if it's asbestos. And don't let things drop on your head.

It may seem like a great idea to do it all yourself and it is a great way to save big but if you don't know what you are doing i would not be trying to master big projects like a bathroom renovation. Ive recently done a full bathroom reno where I did all the work myself with enormous help from my old man and it is extremely hard work. You may think about maybe doing parts of it for e.g., ripping down old tiles, etc to save some cost. In saying this I'm all for learning, and doing things your self is the only way to learn but you need someone their to show you the tricks of the trade along the way to make sure you are doing things rite. Ive learnt to tile, paint, grout and many other things... but like i said its bloody hard work!!

Floor sanding, if you botch it, sand off too much you will hit nails, expose the tongues, and get a shocking finish that you have to live with.

Kitchen installation - not unless you've done it before - you could do the strip out (but get a plumber/sparky to disconnect). Likewise the bathroom.

Carpet, noooo. Floating floor might be an OK.

Coming into Halloween, there should be plenty of masks to choose from ;)

you need qualified and certified tradies for certain things eg waterproofing.
I heard you need to present a certificate of waterproofing for insurance claims.
I know of people who did their own waterproofing in an apartment. They have sold the property. I don't know how the new owner will claim from insurance if there's ever a leak. The same owner installed all the plumbing and electricals.

You can get a handyman to do alot of the simpler stuff for you, if that's cheaper than the relevant tradie. eg painting, installing cupboards in kitchen.

But some of the stuff you really need a professional eg electricals.

Sanding and carpet is not that difficult in theory, and I know people who've done it on their own. It's a bit like painting - theoretically easy, but you need the right touch or it won't look good.

I'm pretty good at DIY stuff, but I would never again attempt to sand a floor.
If you haven't much before, cut your teeth on painting and demolition.
Consider also the time it is going to take you. Is this a rental property? If it takes you three times as long to do stuff, that's more time the place won't be pulling in any rent. So every week you spend might be $400 down the drain in rent.

Tree Lopping
Depends on the size and location of the tree. Generally OK for DIY if plenty of space, youtube is really helpful for technique. With no skills we managed to get down some large pams with no drma.

Landscaping and Gardening
Definitely DIY.

Demolition of patio
Definitely DIY.

Floor sanding
There is a lot of prep work that is DIY - such as removing old covering and staples. To get a good finish a trade is best for the sanding and polishing.

Painting
Depends on the current paint job / wall condition - but generally DIY.

New stuff
Use a trade - but perhaps purchase yourself and get someone to install. Also do removal and dumping of old stuff yourself.

Always good to try things yourself first.

I'm pretty good at DIY stuff, but I would never again attempt to sand a floor.
If you haven't much before, cut your teeth on painting and demolition.
Consider also the time it is going to take you. Is this a rental property? If it takes you three times as long to do stuff, that's more time the place won't be pulling in any rent. So every week you spend might be $400 down the drain in rent.

im pretty good at it too, and I find the sanding is the easy part, use a machine, use some pads, hand sand for some,

but i find getting a glossy finish is the hard part, that I now just let the floors be done by a pro

Aside from the skills necessary to complete this renovation, do you have the time? If you work full time then it could take as long as 4-5 months to do all this work at the weekends; possibly longer.

If it's your own home, this could be ok (as long as you don't mind not having a life for 4-5 months ;) ), but if an IP then this will mean an extra 3 or so months of holding costs which aren't being offset by income from a tenant.

I agree with Tonibell re what to try yourself and what to pay others to do if you do choose to use professionals to help you out.

Good luck with it!

How much lopping needs to be done? Is it dangerous (power lines or property near trees) Get a quote from some loppers to see if it is worth the effort doing it yourself
do it yourself, it isn't hard
Get a pro to do it. Call up alpha timber floor solutions they were the cheapest in perth for me. They can do the job in 2 days. My dad once tried and it was a major fail
- Bedroom carpeting
Why not rip up the carpet and get the wooden floor boards polished (assuming its jarrah flooring throughout the house
get tradies to do
Do it yourself
- New Kitchen
do it yourself, get tradies to the plumbing & elecctrical
- New Bathroom
demolish yourself, manage the tradies yourself. Don't get those bathroom renovation specialist. Steps should be pretty simple. Demolish, plumbing if required, water proof, tiler, cabinets in, plumber in again

How much lopping needs to be done? Is it dangerous (power lines or property near trees) Get a quote from some loppers to see if it is worth the effort doing it yourself
do it yourself, it isn't hard
Get a pro to do it. Call up alpha timber floor solutions they were the cheapest in perth for me. They can do the job in 2 days. My dad once tried and it was a major fail
- Bedroom carpeting
Why not rip up the carpet and get the wooden floor boards polished (assuming its jarrah flooring throughout the house
get tradies to do
Do it yourself
- New Kitchen
do it yourself, get tradies to the plumbing & elecctrical
- New Bathroom
demolish yourself, manage the tradies yourself. Don't get those bathroom renovation specialist. Steps should be pretty simple. Demolish, plumbing if required, water proof, tiler, cabinets in, plumber in again

Thanks Chausta I've booked Alpha Timber Flooring in as they are the cheapest at $25/sqm. I thought the cheapest I'd find was $30/sqm so I was surprised, thanks mate.