Do the renovators have a builder 'on their team'?

Hi everyone, I am just getting started on my path and my plan is to buy properties to renovate and then sell on most of them and keep some as I go along. Anyway, what I keep coming up against is that when i am assessing properties I feel as if I need a builder to go along and tell me if I can do what I think I can.

So my question is, for the renovators out there - how do you do it? hvae you been doing it so long you 'just know' or have you found a builder who you use to ask these questions and then use them for the work..?

And if the latter is the case, how did you find your builder?

Thanks a lot

Hi Shona

For me it's been just learning by doing (and I'm really only one property ahead of you). You only need a builder for structural stuff and I try to keep reno efforts to cosmetic stuff as much as I can. So I've sofar had a builder fix up stairs, build a fence etc. and I will need one to build decks but that's it. I'm not planning on selling though so a lot of the reno is to raise rents as well.

I found my first builder out of the phonebook (he was actually a builder / turned handyman) and he was good but I thought expensive in the end. My next builder (who I'm talking to at the moment) was a recommendation from my rental agent.

The amazing thing I found is that a skip, lots of ellbow grease and a major clean already change a property dramatically. New paint, floor covering, a bit of tile paint and decorative tiling, new curtains etc. just have a major effect. Landscaping and tidying up outside is also a good one where you don't need a builder. Once you start doing structural work it can get very quickly very expensive and for older properties there are often unpleasant surprises that add $$$ to your bill - often invisible stuff until you start to pull things apart.