Duplex

I have a question to ask all you experience developers

I am thinking of buying older house and building duplex together with my mum so we both get to keep half. Its for our PPOR

I have no experience with building or subdividing, I am reading lots about it, different wordings, rules and etc and I understand its huge project that will require lots of time.

Can you please either encourage me its possible to do it, and maybe recommend some rules and steps to follow or tell me I am dreaming :confused:
What is reasonable amount involved in organizing all permits and building cost for duplex in Sydney southern area??

Duplex is the easiest of subdivisions you can do, no issues at all in most cases. If you don't want to spend your time on it, then simply hire a town planner who for $5k will do all the leg work.
If you want a step by step process then:

1) figure out if duplex will be allowed based on the zoning, block size and road frontage (in most places a min of 20m is required)
2) Get site survey and drawings done
3) Get engineering, soil test reports and apply for DA with the council
4) When DA approved calculate how much it will cost to build and with this information tender to a few builders, drive cost down and then build

If you need a more specific advice just PM me.

Its very hard making money on a 2 dwelling development in Sydney even if you were a builder.

Many things to consider when developing. Start of making a list of all the expenses and there are plenty of things you didn't know existed.

1) figure out if duplex will be allowed based on the zoning, block size and road frontage (in most places a min of 20m is required)

20m sounds like one big frontage, and hard to find. Most blocks I have seen are around or just over 15m.