Endeavour Hills, VIC

I am new in investing and need some advice.:)

Currently looking at Endeavour Hills - looks nice, green, established, not bad secondary school (Gleneagles) and plenty of primary ones. Freeway.
I can see a few 4-bedroom properties on large blocks in the $300-320 range. Why that cheap? What's could be wrong with this area (apart from no station)?:confused:

Is it easy to rent out in the area?

When I inspect a house what should I look for?

If the asking price is $300- could I offer $270?

I am looking for a property to rent out for a while and after to move in..

Thanks!

I am new in investing and need some advice.:)

Currently looking at Endeavour Hills - looks nice, green, established, not bad secondary school (Gleneagles) and plenty of primary ones. What's could be wrong with this area (apart from no station)?:confused:

Endeavour Hills is a nice enough suburb (apart from the limited transport), but it's near Doveton and Dandenong. Its main facilities are a large shopping centre; for everything else (hospital, TAFE, two dollar shops and 'Little India') you need to go to Dandenong.

Doveton/Dandenong/Noble Park is the epicentre of one of Melbourne's two big clusters of social disadvantage; the other one is the Braybrook/Sunshine/St Albans corridor.

Dandenong has significant employment and is close to Eastlink, though it was badly affected by deindustrialisation and the recession of the early '90s. Government plans to rejuvenate Dandenong, though without private money it won't work.

Ask yourself this: which is likely to give best capital growth:

(i) the dearest suburb in a low socio-economic area (eg Endeavour Hills)
(ii) the cheapest house/suburb adjoining a generally affluent or gentrifying area (eg Heidelberg West and to some extent Laverton and Braybrook)
(iii) 2 bargain houses in a cheap area (Doveton & Frankston North)