Equity and Tax

Hi,

This has probably been covered but am after some advice/information.

Am currently refinancing my investment property and as a result have access to approx $50k in equity.

In refinancing, my broker has suggested taking the $50k in cash and parking it in an offset account attached to the new loan (effectively increasing my home loan by 50k).

As I am a bit new to this side of things (equity etc) I'm worried at how this could affect my loan for tax purposes.

For example, is my deductible interest calculated as the new loan amount, or the new loan amount minus the 50k. If I were to use the 50k towards a deposit on a PPOR I am sure that my loan would now be a mix of both investment and personal which can't be a good thing?

Can anyone with experience please advise if I should just forget about the equity and only refinance to the amount needed for the loan or if it is a good idea to have access to the equity in cash whilst I am refinancing now and use it later on.

Through my own research, I believe that I should just refinance the loan amount and not worry about the equity at all until I am ready to access it whether it be for investment or personal purposes..

Hopefully this makes sense!

Thanks

Your broker should be careful. It is likely the interest on the $50,000 borrowed will not be deductible.

You are borrowing to put into a savings account and once there it is no longer borrowed money.

There is an argument that the money could be traced and there is a private ruling to back this up. But the ruling only applies to the person who applied for it. If there is other money in the savings account then certainly the interest will not be deductible in full - Domjan case.

Avoid all of these potential problems by getting a LOC for the $50k

Thanks for the quick reply.

Okay the first part makes sense - don't do it.