Established or Build New

Ok i am new to the IP forest and i want to make no mistakes. How do I start of with

my first IP property. there is a lot of buzz around IP as brand new property and

i dont know what advantages it brings with building a new house than buying existing house?

are there any tax breaks if you build and how much? i am looking at 450k to start with new or old

after weighing up. please help!

Ok i am new to the IP forest and i want to make no mistakes. How do I start of with

my first IP property. there is a lot of buzz around IP as brand new property and

i dont know what advantages it brings with building a new house than buying existing house?

are there any tax breaks if you build and how much? i am looking at 450k to start with new or old

Depends on how much money you have to start with and what your goal is..I know in Sydney I can get a new house cheaper than older houses in an area both in SW and NW. Difficulty is that its real hard to get land.

Unsure what its like in Melbourne or Brisbane though

You have come to the right place to start. Spend some time here reading as much as you can, eventually things start to sink in. Use the search function for specific questions.

There is buzz around new properties because more parties have more to gain from their build and sale VS an established property.
Do some research on growth in various areas and you may see that some of the "benefits" of building aren't so great compared with the CG you may be sacrificing, benefits such as;
- Reduced stamp duty, you only pay on the value of the land
- Increased Depreciation, established properties will have some but it won't match a new property.

There are reasons to avoid building, especially in new estates where there is lots of competition and an abundance of land.

If you want to avoid mistakes I would suggest that the easiest option with the least pitfalls is to buy a well placed established property after doing Due Diligence on the area.