Explain forex leverage, margin calls, and long term positions to me?

Hi folks,

I'm trying to get my head around fx. I'm tentatively thinking it might be a good idea to buy USD/AUD early next year, hold it for a year, then see where things are at the end of the year.

From my initial googling, it seems most fx is highly leveraged. How does this work if you want to hold a long-term position? How do you avoid margin calls or having your position closed out automatically on a bad day?

Imagine I want to use $5000 AUD leveraged at 1:100 to buy $500,000 AUD worth of USD and I want to hold it for a year or so. How would this work, practically? Would I need to put $50k, $100k, etc into an offset account somewhere as a guarantee that the broker wouldn't close out my position?

Sorry if I haven't used the right terminology and my question doesn't make sense - this is all super new to me.

Cheers,

Luce

First up I'm no expert.

Buying 500k will use all your funds at 1:100 leverage, some companies offer higher leverage on major currency pairs (like usd/aud). Higher leverage will leave additional funds to maintain your margin account without investing more capital and stop your position been closed if it swings against you, however this could increase your losses if you don't have a stop loss in place.

Another thing to consider is interest. I believe it works by calculating the difference in the pairs respective interest rates. So if the USD is paying more than the aud you should be paid interest, if not you will have to pay the difference.

I've only messed around with practice accounts. Too much like gambling without in depth knowledge IMO.

Good luck!

I will tread carefully guys :)

There just seems to be so much talk of a looming recession in Oz that I thought it was worth investigating. Just looking at headlines and articles from the last few months, it seems the consensus is that the AUD might rally for a month or two but then weaken throughout 2015?