Facts needed- Psychology

I have been asked to come up with a list of facts relating to (positive) psychology; ie, research shows x... or study demonstrates y. If you have any that can would assist, please contribute. Also, include any links if you have them. Here's some examples:
  • Within a few years, paraplegics wind up only slightly less happy on average than individuals who are not paralysed
  • A study of 22 people who won major lotteries found that they reverted to their baseline level of happiness over time, winding up no happier than 22 matched controls
  • Women who are active in sports and recreational activities as girls, feel greater confidence, self-esteem and pride in their physical and social selves, than those who were sedentary as kids.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Positive_psychology

My favourite psych fact (and I can't cite the study I'm afraid, I was dozing a little in the lecture theatre at uni .. yes, I have a psychology degree) is the one about lesbians and looks.

Gay men are most concerned about their appearance. They preen, they polish, they remove hair, they go to gyms, they are most interested in a really hawt guy to pick up at the club. They get very stressed over their appearance and can get serious body image issues.

Straight women are second most concerned about their appearance. I'm sure most doting husbands on this forum would back me up on this anecdotally. We all know how much the average woman obsesses about diets, cellulite etc and most women aren't happy with their looks.

Then come straight men. Those belching, farting, butt-scratching blokes we know and love. They don't care that much about their appearance, and are more likely to be happy with how they look than straight women or gay men. Straight men, when they do have body dissatisfaction, usually want to be bigger not smaller. Bigger biceps, bigger pecs etc.