Finance

W

WebBoard

Investment Loans
Date: 6/27/00
Time: 2:17:18 PM

Could anyone please tell me the difference between an investment home loan and a normal home loan. I am just starting out. Thankyou

Last edited by a moderator:
Cisso

Reply: 1

Re: Investment Loans
Time: 8:21:34 PM

steve..you sound very much a novice like myself..I am unwilling at this stage to take the first step..I have been looking at the Investors Club as this seems to be an "in" but have not decided yet whether they are ok..will keep researching..that's the key..good luck with your investing.

McSpaniel

Reply: 1.1

Time: 5:47:34 PM

I'll have a go.

I'd say a home loan is what you take out to put a roof over your own head; whereas an IHL is what you take out to put a roof over someone else's head.

Also , in australia, under our tax laws, the interest paid on a home loan is not tax deductible; whereas the interest on a IHL is tax deductible (assuming the loan was taken out to buy an income producing property - as distinct from say a vacant block of land).

How's that?

Rae

Reply: 1.1.1

Time: 7:51:00 PM

Just an extra add on. Shop around. A lot of Investment loans will actually be slightly higher than a normal Home loan (but not all). Take your time looking and find the right loan for your investment plan. Regards, Rae.

The Wife

Reply: 1.1.1.1

Date: 6/29/00
Time: 9:49:46 PM

Just another footnote here, Did you know you can haggle with the bank? Still do a run around and get the best loan you can, and then if it isnt your preferred bank, you can go back to your prefered bank and haggle, we didnt the first time, we did a little the second time, and this time we just plain said...oww i aint paying that!! and they haggled with me!!! yippeee...

Les

Reply: 1.1.1.1.1

Time: 11:30:48 PM

G'day Steve,

I believe there are several differences between them (some obvious, some not so obvious).