Finance

W

WebBoard

Interesting Read: Thanks Les
Date: 7/27/00
Time: 11:47:57 PM

Hi Les, thanks for being so forthcoming in offering help. I'm new at this IP stuff and I'm looking for for a few pointers.

My question...would there be any advantages in returning your tax return to your ip or dumping it onto your mortgage?

Last edited by a moderator:
Les

Reply: 1

Re: Interesting Read: Thanks Les
Date: 7/28/00
Time: 12:42:40 AM

G'day Gary,

Your question:

Would there be any advantages in returning your tax return to your ip or dumping it onto your morgtage?

Gary, I think what you're asking here is - should you pay down your home mortgage with your Tax refund, or put it into the IP (mortgage?)

Answer - pay down the Non-Deductible debt (i.e. your own home mortgage, credit cards, etc) first. Leave the IP mortgage until the others are sorted.

However, if "put it into the IP" means add value to the IP (e.g. fix it up, enabling you raise the rent) or invest in another IP, then the answer is not so "cut and dried". Here it's a matter of "doing the numbers" to see what works best. I hope the FIRST answer was what you were thinking - it's easier ... ;^)

If that first answer is not what you had in mind, do come back - but there'll be a heap of questions to consider, so post a bit more about exactly what you were thinking of doing, and we'll take a crack at it.

Regards, Les

Geoff W

Reply: 1.1

Where to put tax return money
Time: 8:17:13 AM

Les,

If you were to put money into an IP to improve its value, you may well be better off to put the money into your own mortgage first, then taking a line of credit for the same amount to use on the IP. That makes the interest on the line of credit tax-deductible, as against mortgage interest which is not deductible.

Geoff

Les

Reply: 1.1.1

GeeCee, Sue1, Geoff1, (Some1 ;^) - can you help here?
Time: 9:04:28 AM

G'day GeoffW,