Finance

W

WebBoard

Security/collateral
Date: 22 Jan 2001
Time: 21:19:34

Hi folks. I hope someone can help me understand when banks ask for security when you buy a property. I have been having a debate (some would call this argument :)) with my wife regarding this.

Pardon my ignorance on the way I say things below, but I'm fairly new to investing.

If say I have a home worth $200K and fully paid off, then this would be my equity. Right? What I would then be inclined to do is to start up a new loan of $160K (ie 80% of my equity). The security held against this loan would be my home. Correct?

I now decide to buy a property worth $300K, so one would think that a bank would lend you up to 80% (sometimes more, but let's stick to 80) which would be $240K. The remainder of the 20% ($60K) I would source from the new loan I have just started, leaving me with a balance of $100K. I can then continue to buy properties in the same fashion sourcing my deposits from the loan I originally opened from my equity.

My question is, would the bank hold security against my existing home on these properties I purchased? Up to what percentage would a bank lend you without them requiring any security?

My wife and I have been talking to a few lenders this week, and they have given my wife the impression that they always require security. I believe that you can buy a property without offering any security. I have heard that a bank, given the chance, would try and hold some sort of security if they could no matter how much they lend you. How should a smart investor handle situations like these when negotiating with banks?

Thanks for any responses.

Regards, Jim.

Last edited by a moderator:
Mike

Reply: 1

Re: Security/collateral
Time: 21:47:28

Hi Jim,