First Home Buyer looking in SE Melbourne

Hi everyone,
It's been great reading all the informative posts and fantastic to be able to access such a great resource. It's my first post and I'm a newbie, so please be gentle. :p

I'm a first home buyer looking at purchasing in SE Melbourne, with approx $500-600K budget.

My plan is to purchase a property as PPOR and live in for 12 months to take advantage of stamp duty savings as FHB and then lease it out afterwards as an investment property (while I rent someplace else) for negative-gearing/tax purposes.

The reason I am looking to buy in the SE Melbourne area is because both myself and my partner work in SE Melbourne. I have thought about inner west (e.g. Footscray), but the daily commute wouldn't be very feasible for the both of us.

Some options I am considering include...
(1) Purchase a detached/semidetached unit that has a smaller land component within approx 15km radius from CBD in a blue-chip suburb (e.g. Carnegie, Oakleigh, Bentleigh east)

(2) Purchase a detached/semidetached unit or house further out in a non-Blue-chip suburb that has a larger land component (e.g. Mulgrave, Clayton, Wantirna, Mitcham)

Any suggestions/opinions? Or areas you would highly recommend/consider? :confused: I would greatly appreciate it!
Thank you all in advance! ;)

(1) Purchase a detached/semidetached unit that has a smaller land component within approx 15km radius from CBD in a blue-chip suburb (e.g. Carnegie, Oakleigh, Bentleigh east)

I will choose this option. If you can afford Malvern East, it would be better.
These areas are well proven, in terms of high capital growth.
Just my 2 cents.

Based on your 500-600k budget, have a look at what you are able to purchase within these areas, do some filtering and see your options

Only then you are able to see what is available, rather than simply looking at geographic

Hi D.L,
My preference would be house and land with your budget.