First property - IP or no?

Hello,

I'd really like your thoughts on this. I'm new to this and feel like there's so much to learn (including learning what exactly are the things that I have to learn), so I'd like to bounce some ideas off people who have more experience than I do. :)

Here's my situation:
Purchased a unit OTP 3 years ago, settlement is in a few months. This is in Belconnen, ACT.. (Yes, area currently has issues with oversupply :/) Initially, I wanted the place because I love the area. Right next to the lake and shopping centre. University of Canberra nearby (where I worked part time) and easy public transpo to CBD (where I worked full time). I was going to live there for a while, claim it as my first home, get the FHOG + stamp duty concession. However, since then I found an awesome job in Sydney and had to relocate. Currently renting in Sydney.

What I think my options are:
- Continue with claiming it as first home for the first 6 months then convert to IP - I've got opportunites to do some contract work for my current company which would require me to be in ACT next year - only a few days per week though so that means I will have to keep renting my current place in Sydney.
- Forego the FHOG etc for now and just have it as an IP from the start.
- Sell - Probably not ideal considering the market at the moment?

Another thing I'm not sure about:
- I will have spare cash after 20% deposit and 12 months of repayments (P+I or I at current rates). I could either put in a bigger deposit or leave the extra cash in an offset account - should I aim to pay off this loan quicker (and I guess build equity quicker) or leave myself some cash?

My current thoughts:
- Claiming it as first home means 20k in savings (stamp duty + FHOG).