First Time Subdividing

Hi All,

My wife and i have no subdivision experience but we are about to embark on our first subdivision (i can hear the scream!).

We are actually assisting my mother subdivide her property in Riverton in order to then sell the existing house, build on the rear battleaxe lot.

The ultimate goal is to pay off her debt and leave her with a brand new house with little to no maintenance (existing house is a 1960's house). At the same time we will be gaining experience in subdivisions for our own future investments. WIN/WIN right?

So i have run some numbers and i think it looks feasible, we are not 100% on the tax side so if anyone can assist on that side, most appreciated.

House is 867 sqm R17.5/R25

From my understanding this would be a green title subdivision?

Property layout
nlu7tg.png

As you can see the shape will make it slightly challenging to fit a 3x2 on the back but after speaking to a rep from a building company, they are confident of designing a single storey house to fit.

Current debt owing on house - $192K
Subdivision costs - $60k
  • remove shed and detached garage
    Application Fees
    Services connections
    Clear out block
    Additional paving & Fencing
Build house (3x2) and finish off - $250k
Propose Sale of front property after subdivision - $500k
Agent fees for sale @ 2% - $10k

Total - $12k out of pocket.

(Please correct me if not correct on costs or if missing anything).

Our first step is

- Approach surveyors to carry out survey on property
- Consult a builder about what is possible on battleaxe block and come up with a layout to suit.
- Submit application to WAPC
- Go through conditions and tick off
- Apply for clearance of conditions
- Lodge endorsed plans with landgate for creation of titles.

Thanks for any advice.

Consider borrowing 236k for the build and offsetting with 236k profit from sale of original property.