Fixed Interest

W

WebBoard

Comparing Interest Rates
Date: 4/3/00
Time: 12:47:14 AM

I am trying to decide between the two following split loan options......

Lender 1) 50% 5 year fixed interest only @ 8.4% and 50% Variable interest only @ 6.7%......

Lender 2) 50% 5 year fixed interest only @ 7.99% and 50% Variable interest only @ 7.2%.

The loans from both lenders will cost the same per month (assuming variable rates remain constant) My question is.....should I choose Lender 1 with a higher fixed rate and lower variable rate or Lender 2 with a lower fixed rate and much higher variable rate?

Last edited by a moderator:
EddyM

Reply: 1

Re: Comparing Interest Rates
Time: 11:51:19 AM

Hi Karen, I'm not that experienced that I can answer you but I will be interested in what others have to say. I think it all has to do with 'perception' and where you see interest rates going. Certainly, the 7.99 fixed portion for 5 years appears good, but the variable is up. I have had recommended to me over the last few days that I take a variable loan as fixed is too expensive at present.

It would also depend on whether you would feel 'comfortable' with variable. Variable with say 'Resi' is currently 6.89% (I am only familiar with Resi as they are the ones I will be borrowing through) - I am presently in the throws of buying my second property in Adelaide. Let me know what you decide. Regards

Les

Reply: 1.1

Time: 6:45:54 PM

G'day Karen,

To me Lender 2 (lower Fixed) is the way to go, if choosing only between those two.

In earlier notes, I postulated that Interest rates could likely drop again once GST comes around - and I'm sticking with variable for the moment.