Getting Started

W

WebBoard

Confused
Date: 6/19/00
Time: 11:16:54 AM

Hi all. I am very new to IP's and I have just been reading some of the most recent entries and I guess like the majority I'm am keen on becoming financially free.

I have a problem with my own property that after countless hours my mind has now become so boggled I can't think straight - so I'm hoping someone may be able to heeeellllp. I own land valued at $250,000 with fantastic ocean views - if I put a house on it the value with be approx $650 -$750,000(with debt of approx $200,000).

Now my dilemma is do I hold this property and get capital growth or do I sell and buy IP's and hopefully get greater capital growth? Which way will get me to my goal of financial freedom sooner?

Last edited by a moderator:
Les

Reply: 1

Re: Confused
Date: 6/21/00
Time: 11:02:23 PM

G'day Anne,

Welcome aboard. Before we start, let me say that I am a very new investor in IP's - hopefully my thoughts might give you some ideas, or prompt a response from others with more experience.

First, I take it that you OWN the land freehold - thus the $200k debt would be simply to put a house (?) on it. With "fantastic ocean views" it sounds like a winner - so my initial reaction be to say build a house (motel, block of flats, etc. - whatever suits) so your block of land can return you some cash while you wait for the land's value to increase. And with Fantastic views, that is surely guaranteed.

Once they are built (value ~$700k) it should be easy to borrow against it for other IP purchases (subject to your capability of getting a larger loan - DSR, etc.) With that kind of equity, there should be little holding you back - even if it means stepping out of the "usual" role of borrowing from Banks, and instead going for "Asset Based Finance" (where they will lend say 70% on the value of the property - doesn't matter what you earn - forget DSR, etc.)