Good Growth ?

I am new to the IP game and just wondering how others define good capital growth ?

If you are chasing capital growth would 5% be a good mark or over 10 % ?

I understand in regional areas with higher yields around 2 % would be 'average' or am I way off ?

I still strategising and running numbers trying to plot my way forward !

How long is a piece of string...?

Too many variables at play to give a definitive answer.

Some would consider keeping up with CPI good growth if there were other factors at play to make up for the lack of CG whereas some would consider anything less than 10% to be a poor investment.

There a lot more things to chase to make a good investment than just purely capital growth.

I am new to the IP game and just wondering how others define good capital growth ?

If you are chasing capital growth would 5% be a good mark or over 10 % ?

I understand in regional areas with higher yields around 2 % would be 'average' or am I way off ?

Depends. Keep strategizing and formulating. Start with an end goal and map out how to get there. Cap growth assumptions will definitely feed into it - then search for properties that exhibit fundamentals that you think will deliver those returns.

Generally speaking, if i hit 10% p.a. cap growth for the next decade i'm celebrating...and probably retiring!

4-5% is a very good benchmark over a long horizon for me.

Don't buy into previous 10-30 growth figures as a guide for next period - basic economics tells you that this is unlikely in a macro-economic context. May find great results in certain micro-markets though.

Cheers,
Redom

Thank for the replies, I am trying to project going from my first IP to number 10. All the books I have read talk about going for growth to gain equity for the next purchase but none define what is 'good' growth. My only experience so far is with my PPOR which has hit 5-6% each year. I would buy more houses in my area but I would use up almost all my equity on one purchase.