Granny flat at rear of duplex pair

Hi Everyone

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster with a crazy idea that I'd appreciate some feedback about.

I am about to settle on a 2x1 duplex pair in Yokine, and anticipate a gross rental return of $620/week. The units are in average condition (built ~1975). The block is 769sqm and zoned R30 (duplex potential). I had been considering holding for a few years and developing 2 side by side dwellings which I'd then continue to lease out. This will require a big (~500k?) outlay in the future.

With all the discussion about granny flats, I am now wondering about the feasibility of constructing a granny flat at the rear of the property. I understand (from reading the forum) that a granny flat can be erected for around $100k. What do you think this could rent for? I would also consider renovating the existing units to improve the the rental potential. I guess the idea behind all of the items in this paragraph is a view to turn the property cash flow neutral with minimal (~150K) outlay.

Has anyone else has experience in this regard? Do you think the granny flat idea is worthwhile, or should I continue with my original idea of a side by side development in the medium term future.

Thanks to everyone for your participation in this great forum.

Tim

So when you say develop later on, do you mean bulldoze the existing and build? Wouldn't it make more sense to keep the existing duplex pair?

With all the discussion about granny flats, I am now wondering about the feasibility of constructing a granny flat at the rear of the property.

Make sure you are not confusing SYDNEY granny flat regulations with other states!

I think, in NSW, dual occ. means there are two dwellings. Duplex is a dual occ. House and a granny flat is a dual occ. I don't think you can make a dual dual occ. :p
Is it possible be subdivide the duplex and then build a granny flat?!?

dtraeger2k - paid $675k