Has anyone heard of Richlands in Brisbane and/or Craigieburn in Melbourne

Hello, I am an absolute newbie at buying investment properties and am looking to buy my first one. I live in Perth, where market is flat, but there is an older property I'm looking at - one is around 12 years old, the other around 10. The Investors Club has recommended interstate - Craigieburn or Richlands. Does anyone here know anything about these two suburbs? Would they be good to invest in and which between the two would you say is better? Thank you so much fellow forumers!

Hello godette

You already have a thread running on the subject of Craigieburn http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72023

With regards to Richlands, yes, I have a customer bought Off The Plan there last year - not yet completed or settled so no performance history as yet.

Quite a lot of development going on, again, use www.nearmap.com - you can see pictorial history of the buildings being constructed, the new shopping centre etc

However, too soon to say whether Richlands, or Craigieburn, or any of the Growth Corridors will be bonanzas. If you are buying 'Off The Plan' this requirs a greater leap of faith than buying an established property in an established area

Cheers
Kristine

Hmm. The invesors club... I know far too much about them.. I would do my own due diligence on up coming areas.... Richlands is heading out in the western suburbs of Brisbane heading to Ipswich.. Lots of infrastructure has happened there. But does not mean you will get good growth. I have never lived out there but is a blue collar belt - lots of trucks and industry etc.

Hello godette

You already have a thread running on the subject of Craigieburn http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72023

With regards to Richlands, yes, I have a customer bought Off The Plan there last year - not yet completed or settled so no performance history as yet.