Help. Asset protection advice by tomorrow

Hi,
Going to see our accountant tomorrow morning about setting up asset protection. I asked today on the phone what he would recommend off the top of his head. He mentioned we should buy under hubby's name so we can deduct everything, then buy shares in a company, which would then lend money to the trust.

Does that sound right or would he have meant the loan is in hubby's name? To buy shares in company to loan to trust? I did confirm that he didn't mean a trust with a company trustee.

I read through Ed Chan et al "how to reduce your tax legally" or whatever it is called and couldn't see mention of something similar.

Does this sound right,? Any questions I should ask? Would that incur paying GST? I want to go in with a base knowledge and I feel he pulled one out that I have no knowledge of.

Thanks

Apparently.

If I went to a lawyer they would be fabulous at the asset protection side and not so hot on the accounting side wouldn't they?

(think I'm being eaten alive at every post here. Good thing I guess in that I get saved from my own stupidity)

Blueberry - the problem with this whole asset protection thing is that there is no correct answer. If you are looking for the magic bullet then the accountant (or a lawyer, for that matter) won't give it to you because it doesn't exist. What you need to work out first is what it is you actually plan to do (in great detail), then a planning process can be formulated around that. Otherwise it's just too many contingencies so the structure suffers.

I suppose I'd expect the average accountant to be good at tax side of things, and absolutely clueless about asset protection (even if they thought otherwise).

On the other hand, I'd guess the average appropriately qualified lawyer to be fairly good at both tax and asset protection. And if they weren't good at tax, then they would at least be honest about that fact.

Is asset protection a primary concern for you?