Help with setting up the empire

Hi All,
I am just starting out in the investing game and am keen to clarify some planning issues....
Currently I have about 40k cash and a good salary(about 100k per year). I have just bought my first property(settled today) in my own name for 390k, renting 400 per week in a good capital growth area(as per residex anyway).
I am happy to work in my current job for 5 years, then my salary should go up significantly(about 3 times initial). I plan to work for another 5 years in that second job - so the long term plan is the 10 year plan. I want to aggressively invest(but am a little time poor), happy with risk(single, no debt, good earning potential), and have good job security(income protection insurance, secure job). The 10 year plan then is for maximal property portfolio growth, with little need for cash from investments for the next 10 years. In 10 years I will reconsider....and may want to start to live off investments to some degree.
I am considering my next moves:
1) do I start a trust for further properties? I know about asset protection and tax issues, but my main concern is borrowing power. Would I have better borrowing capacity if I started a corporate trust and went guarantee?
2) what is the fastest way to grow my portfolio? I see that I could buy another property now with my cash and income, and am looking at cash flow positive ones in mining towns. This would then bring my overall position somewhat closer to neutral so serviceability issues shouldn't arise for further borrowing. I then plan to revalue my properties in about 6 months time and hopefully use the equity to fund another purchase - however how much cash will I need for each property thereafter? If I continue to buy around the 400k range, and get interest only, how much cash will I need to save up? I see that as my limiting factor - my salary is good but to save up 30-40k is no mean feat!