High rise construction

This is my first attempt at building a three story eight unit apartment complex. I thought I will post some information on progress for those that are interested.

To start with, we began tendering for the work around august last year after being referred to the client by Richard Luke (Mortgage Broker). We where not the cheapest however we ended up getting the contract as the client felt comfortable dealing with us.

We where due to start in October however, we discovered that the plans did not factor in a common party wall and the engineers has placed a water tank in an easement. This meant we had to go into negotiations with the neighbor to pull down a party wall and underpin his dwelling as we needed to excavate 3m on the boundary line for our basement car park and the neighbors dwelling is less than 1m from the boundary. After several discussions we finally got an agreement in late November. We did not see the point in cutting the site so late so we decided to start work in the new year.

The first step for the New Year was to appoint a site supervisor as we need someone on site on a permanent basis to ensure that things went smoothly. I ended up with a guy who has had a lot of experience with this kind of work and as a bonus he also has a lot of industry contacts.

The work site was always going to be a challenge due to its busy location on Ipswich Road, Annerley. We have been granted permission to use the council footpath for storage and scaffolding. The building foot print takes up almost all of the land.

The neighbor has been helpful by allowing us to place our site office on his block, use his power, toilet and water. Must be my charm:p