HK a good place to invest as an expat aussie living there?

i've moved over to HK for over a year now and just bought an apartment (damn space is expensive i paid $500k AUD for a 656 square foot apartment).

no tax on property here i'm thinking if i hold for 20 years and sell (sure HK prop is volatile but i'm playing the yield at the moment 4.5% yield and 2.35% financing cost at the moment with low US interest rates).

sure this won't last forever but looking at economic fundamentals in oz giving high debt ratios and high credit and 12 years growth i wouldn't want to be investing in aussie propertying for the next 10 years (i currently hold two small apartments as well dammit there).

assuming same growth rate or even hk slightly less after 20 years u will still come out on top no since there is no CGT in HK. i sill have to pay aussie tax even if i am a non resident for aussie property. tax exemption only relates to non residential property assets i.e. shares if i sell aussie shares while here i pay no tax.

thoughts?

hi sonic
I am looking at co investing with a hk national at the moment and yes it is for me a good place to invest the only issue is that you need to know what and where hence the co invest I use equity here and he invests there.
I am more seen as the a lender then a investor.
but the place for me is a good place to look at

hey sonic. which area did you buy and on which island. hope its not in one of those ghetto slum govt houseing buildings.

12 inches x 12 inches, BC! :p And 656 sq ft is 6.56 squares! :D

But, seriously, a square foot is roughly 30 cm x 30 cm, so 900 sq cm.

Cheers
LynnH

hey sonic. which area did you buy and on which island. hope its not in one of those ghetto slum govt houseing buildings.

HK island i kinda of only know the expatting area its slightly out of it 10 mins walk to Soho in an area called Sai Ying Pun. Its @ HK Island.