Hotspotting using DSR and SOM statistics

I'm just learning about the use and application of demand to supply ratio (DSR) and Stock on Market (SOM) statistics, supplied in publications like Your Investment Property Magazine.

My thoughts would be that the ideal DSR and SOM statistics would be a DSR score that is say above avearage to good (25 - 35) with an improving outlook, whereby the DSR is improving, combined with an SOM that is high say 1.4%+. The reason being that if there is more SOM the buy has relatively better bargaining power, whereas if SOM is low and the DSR score is good it might be very hard to buy anything at a good price. Obviously you hope the SOM is falling so that after you buy their is increased buying tension.

Do others have a different interpretation of these statistics?

The other issue I see in using DSR figures is DSR is a reflection at a point in time, not necessarily the direction DSR is heading.

Eg if one looked to buy in areas with high DSR this could be reflective of buying at the top of the market whereby the DSR is currently high but falling, which you would want to avoid.

I'm just learning about the use and application of demand to supply ratio (DSR) and Stock on Market (SOM) statistics, supplied in publications like Your Investment Property Magazine.

Did any of these statistics predict, 2 or 3 years ago, that 2770 would be the hot spot it has been for the past 12 months?

Just asking is all. :)

From memory, the magazines were full of stories about how good the mining towns were.

Yeah, DSR score is what's happering at that point in time and this could potentially change pretty fast. The DSR score won't know what's coming up like, a new mine, a train station, etc. I think DSR score could be a handy tool to use on the properties that you have when you thinking about valuing them for equity.