"How about calling Brissy , Brisbane"

I know I will cop it for this , but here goes.......
I live and invest in Melbourne but travel to, and stay in all capitals often.
Every place is fascinating and different enough to make all stays interesting.
But please could somebody tell me why anyone would call Brisbane "brissy".
Every time I hear "brissy" I cringe as do every non Queensland person I mention it to.
I will take my medicine but please be gentle.
Mike

How about Brisvegas ? :p

sim.gif

Reply: 2

or Brassy?

Reply: 3

If it can be shortened then..., it's the Aussie way. :)
--
Aaron Dwyer
~ To know and not to do, is really not to know at all.

Reply: 4

I lived in Brisbane for 15ish years, and always affectionately called it Brizzie.

I also noticed that the younger generation affectionately call it Brisvegas.

TW

Reply: 4.1.1

Hey, I'm with Aaron here! Brisbanites also refer to it as Brissy. It's the Australian way to shorten everything by trying to add that ee or o sound to the end. Just look at our own names...

Jacqueline- Jackie
Rebecca- Becky
Johnathon- Johnny
Victoria- Vicki

Brisbanites like to confuse the rest of us anyway with their other weird and wonderful contributions to the English language:

Luggage/bags are referred to as PORTS
Swimmers/Costumes are known as TOGS
Little frankfurters are called CHEERIOS

Hell, they're practically another country! Long life the differences!
Cheers, Jacque :)

Reply: 4.1.1.1

Jacque,thanks so much for telling me about little boys being called cheerios in Brisbane-all is forgiven-that is priceless.
You are quite right about shortening place names but it is hardly exclusive to Australia.eg USA and UK.
My point I guess is that of all the shortened town names I have come across in Australia eg Ky for Kyabram,Shepp for Shepparton none detract from the full name,apart from "brissy".
Strangely enough where I develop property in Footscray the most common pronunciation is affectionately Foot-Is-Grey.
I know this a property forum so maybe a little tip for new investor.....follow the pink dollar.
Cheers Mike

Reply: 4.1.1.2

If Aussie names get shortened how do explain changing Dave to Davo or Steve to Stevo. Definitely goes against the trend.

Owen

"Gambling promises the poor what property performs for the rich – something for nothing"

Reply: 4.1.1.2.1

Steven = Stevo
David = Davo

Both are shorter. It took me exactly 0.1msec less time to type the shorter versions as well!

Cheers.

Reply: 4.1.1.2.1.1

Hi Michael,

Do you have a similar problem with people calling Tasmania "Tassie"?

Jye.

Reply: 4.1.1.2.1.1.1

Hi Jye........I wondered when this might come up.
To be fair I do not have any problem with the people calling Brisbane "Brissy" it is just how childish it sounds.
Tasmania has 4 syllables and Tassie shortens it to two.
Brisbane has 2 syllables and Brissy shortens it to two!
It is obviously a term of affection just like a Christmas pressie.
Cheers Mike

Reply: 4.1.1.2.1.1.1.1

Hi again Michael,

I personally dont care if the city I invest in has the consonant structure of DNA as long as it eventually makes me money... Does it matter how childish anything sounds... Im glad youre not around when my girlfriend is in the mood :)

BUT understand your point... and Sim

I live in Bris and HATE it being called Brisvegas. :)

PS Jacque... I live in Brisbane and have never carried a PORT, worn TOGS, nor eaten CHEERIOS, but appreciate the distinction cos' Im from Newcastle and coming to the end of my tenure here.

PSS The whole "shortening names" bit reminds me of when I saw Jimeoin last year... He told of a meeting where a stranger asked him

"Whats your name" He answered "Jim"

The guy replied "do you mind if I called you Jimmy for short?"

He answered "go ahead, but I dont think youll save much time"...

All in good fun

Jye

PS This would have to be one of the most ridiculous threads I have ever seen

Reply: 4.1.1.2.1.1.1.1.1

I couldn't resist . . .

I spent a couple of years in Qld quite a while ago. On the first day, the boss said to me:

"if the girls give you any trouble, just give them a touch up"

I didn't know whether to die laughing; rub my hands with glee; or run away!!!

What he meant, was to tell them off and put them back in their subordinate place.

What I understood, coming from Melbourne, was going to get me divorced and/or in a sexual harassment case.

It still makes me laugh.

Have fun

Dale