How do you research property?

Hey All,

Apologies if my topic is quite vague but I am new to real estate and just trying to absorb as much information as possible over the next year whilst I attempt to build enough equity to purchase my first IP.

What my topic is referring to is how people go about researching property? So far I am using tools such as forums, investment magazines, investment websites, realestate.com and just general google searches.

Whilst these tools are fantastic and I have already learnt so much I am really interested to see what other people do or if they have some specific websites. I guess a concern I have is that once something is published in a blog or listed in an investment magazine or even discussed in a forum that the boat may have begun to sail.

Before it has started to sail though there are obviously investors who are well aware and I guess I want to get more knowledge on how they get the inside word. Things such as infrastructure and developments will increase an areas value but I struggle to know what my local council is doing let alone finding an IP in another state!

And just a side note on realestate.com if you go to the investment tab and click say Melbourne the highest rental yield is Carlton but that does not mean everyone should run out and buy in Carlton. There are obviously a lot of factors to consider but how do people go about determining this as opposed to just going for the highest rental yield.

Thanks in advance:D

I bought outer sydney crunched numbers for a unit and townhouse.

Next to improve yield bought a couple props and added grannies. The areas were not hotspots but have jumped since. I have continued purchasing using equity. Looking for new deals now. I still have not maxed land tax in NSW, but am looking to add to interstate portfolio.

I bought where the numbers worked and cg has followed. I have not chased perceived hotspots posted by Ryder and the like. Where I purchased was not in their list.