How to pass on water rates and increase rent legally upon the expiry of lease

Good Morning all!

I am a newbie of the investment property market (was just jump in January 2012) and my tenant is a real estate agent so I wanna make sure every single step I am going to take is legally complied ><

As I really can not afford to pay the water usage for my tenants (Past quarter payments for this property was $170 water charges & $150 water usage = $320 per quarter and now jump to $1450 solely for the water usage for one quarter.....I was nearly fainted when I look at the bills... Only 4 people in an 100 sqm house ....I check the meter by comparing the difference between midnight and early morning, no issues for the water leaking.... so it should be the problem of tenant's behavior of using water excessively), I really have to pass on the water usage upon the expiry of contract...

Option 1:
How to pass on the water usage legally to tenant upon the expiry of contract?
Can I pass on the water usage legally without signing a new contract? Can I use the old contract and amend the clause "The landlord agrees to pay for water usage?"
What if the tenant disagrees with that?

Option 2:
If the tenant disagree with the water usage's passing on....
The rent appraisal for this property was $800-850 and the tenant has negotiated the rent down to $750 + rent prepayment for 6 months equivalent to $30 for interest saving =$780....And, now I am thinking of increasing the rent to $820 and pay on fortnightly basis if I cant pass on the water rates....is it excessive rent increase? The market rent is $830?