i treated myself today....

hi all,

I know this may sound hyprocritical, but in recent threads I have written about the end of car lease i was facing a few months back, and how I was looking for certain types of car to commence a new lease with...

Well after a few months of deliberating and researching, I decided NOT to lease a new car and instead, buy a 2nd hand car with cash. So with a proposed budget of 15k, i went shopping.

Well last week, I found out that one of the local embassies has been offloading their diplomatic cars. So i test drove one of their Volvo S80s and i decided against that, but then i tested one of their BMW 528i's and was most impressed.

I did my research, got it checked out, found out that it had been religiously serviced every 6 months. The car was immaculate, the back seats had hardly been used - if ever, and everything was as new. Full documetnation and all receipts for everything - even for petrol expenses. They all came in a big folder with all documentation.

So today, i forked out 15.5k of my hard earned and got a 10 year old BMW 528i that is immaculate - and I mean immaculate. Full documetned service history, items replaced when needed and no expense spared in maintaining this vehicle. Service every 6 months and 11 months rego (it just came off Diplomatic registration).

This car drives very smoothly, no noises, very tight car and handles perfectly. Everythign works and full history of it.

So that is what i treated myself with...

One thing i am worried about - this car belonged to an embassy from a country in the midddle east that is in the news a lot. I just hope our good friends at A*S*I*O (and the spies from other embassies) know that this embassy has offloaded their cars. I'd hate to be followed by some spies or something like that and have my movements recorded.

G

One thing i am worried about - this car belonged to an embassy from a country in the midddle east that is in the news a lot. I just hope our good friends at A*S*I*O (and the spies from other embassies) know that this embassy has offloaded their cars. I'd hate to be followed by some spies or something like that and have my movements recorded.

You have checked underneath it, haven't you?;)

Nice work G.
That's a great ride for the money and you can't beat a well serviced Bimmer.
Mine is a '97 318 iS
One owner with full dealer history and drives like new even after 166km.
You will be happy with yours for a long time to come.

The racking devices would've been fitted before they took delivery....
So they probly have a screen with a GPS tracker of the location of your car's position.
You'll soon start to notice black cars with dark tinted windows in your street often.
If you go to church, keep a look out for people in the church (always near the door) with dark suits who don't take off their sunglasses.
Expect this activity to multiply as you drive through suburbs with large mosques
Have fun
:p

Nice. Looking for an XC90 at the moment but too many sellers having themselves on.

What prices are they hovering around?

Are they AWDs?

The S80 i drove was rather strange. I didn't like the way it handled but it was a brute of a car when taking off from the traffic lights. the BMW handled much better though - I think the Volvo had too much body roll. Don't know about the XC90s though.

g

Nice work G.
That's a great ride for the money and you can't beat a well serviced Bimmer.
Mine is a '97 318 iS
One owner with full dealer history and drives like new even after 166km.
You will be happy with yours for a long time to come.

I hope so Rob.

I think mine drives like new. 10 years old last month and it goes great and handles great, heaps of power and very, very smoothe and quiet.

Taking it on a short trip to some of the local wineries on the weekend. Hopefully the weather will hold out so that i can enjoy the drive.

g

What prices are they hovering around?

Depends on engine type & k's. 04-06 are asking mid 30s and low 40s. Only willing to spend low 30s and don't like cars with more than 100k's on the clock.

Never wanted a Volvo until a family member recently flipped an XC70 for some quick cash. I couldn't believe how good it was to drive - apart sitting low which I'm not use to.

I also treated myself last week and brought a 2008 Ford FG XR6 Turbo Ute :)

Immaculate, like brand new, white, 6-speed manuel, 20,000km, leather seats, trim, carbon fibre dash, tinted, 19"rims, premium sound (big colour screen), ipod/tech pack....

I love utes, great for doing reno's and work on my IP's/PPOR,

Mind you this ute might cost me a few $$$ in spreed fines, its flys...270kw.......0-100km in about 5.2 seconds:p

Sure it was a small deposit on a unit or house, but driving it reminds me why Im on this journey and the rewards which can be had.

I recently took a 2009 Audi A4 for a drive.. I loved it. What a great car to drive. Black and beautiful, but at 75K i reluctantly handed the keys back, came back to reality and thought thats a big deposit on the next IP.
Oh well another day maybe......when I'm rich :D

Where can I find a listing of these cars?

Also, where in Canberra are you going to take it for servicing?

Take it to your local mechanic. If he's worth his salt he'll call in specialists when he needs assistance. My local guy does this, and is still significantly cheaper than the local dealerships.

Getting rid of yours?

Having just come back from the US I see we are still quite hard done by with Euros

Entry level new E class Benz 140 in AUD or < 50 k in USD

Porsche Boxter 100 k + AUD or < 50 in USD

and used current mustangs are on average less than 20 k.........

well done , you have earned it especially if you had the cash to buy it.
its nice to get out of the lease trap, many are happy to go into.. a car lease , but not so when they finnish one. they don't work for me , i think they are a bit of a con.