If you had only 250k to buy a house, where would it be and why?

This is of course an investment property to be kept for at least 10 years

Ideally it would be neautral or even positively geared
but the main aim is capital gains

Will be intersting to see everyones thoughts

This is of course an investment property to be kept for at least 10 years

Ideally it would be neautral or even positively geared
but the main aim is capital gains

Will be intersting to see everyones thoughts

250k cash or borrowing capacity?

if 250k cash i would buy a small value add property, perhaps a reno build and retain or something of that ilk. im far too impatient to just wait for capital growth

Haha fair enough

Well im new to this game so i have no choice but to be budget dependent

I've got a list of:
Ballarat Vic
Whyalla SA
Mount Gambier SA
Burnie TAS
Devonport TAS
Launceston TAS

All have a median house price in the 250k area
All decent population sizes for 2nd tier cities

Ballarat is probably and Whyalla have me interested the most
Can still buy a 3br house within 1km of the train station in Ballarat
Whyalla has a beach and a highway dividing the town
And we know how that always turns out...

Why not Sydney? Tregear, Shalvey area? Some are weirdly overpriced but can still find something around $230k- $50k

Didn't have too many enquiries about Mt Gambier and it seems to be a little off the boil in recent years. Not sure how strong the employment base is and what the prospects are - needs more research into the economic fundamentals.