Im having trouble finding the next IP.

Hello Somersofters

I am having trouble finding an IP within my price range, as property goes up i feel as though it gets harder and harder to aquire the next IP, I have been investing in property for only 2 years and i have built up a small portfolio in that period.

I feel as though I am only looking in the suburbs that i live around and know of, how do you learn about other properties/suburbs on the other side of town or even interstate properties and how suburbs are performing, rental demand etc?

In saying that i do have a decend deposit and a fair amount of equity available i just choose to keep my IP's within 300-400K.

Hi tbinvestor,

1. You can start by searching this forum and reading what other investors have to say about certain areas.

API Mag is also a great source for projected Hot Spots and info. It will give you stats on rental yields and growth - although in most cases by the time you read about it the stats have changed.

realestate.com.au also has some great free info on demographics, yields and medians.

Most of us here have areas that we think are great places to invest but you should back this up with your own research.

2. Perhaps you should start to look outside your area and even into other states.

The best investment strategy involves diversifying your risk. Whether it be with banks, states or type of investment.

Look at the basics and choose your property based on a business decision rather than a personal one. I have bought several times without inspecting the property in person.

3. Once you find the area in your price range with your investment criteria, research the growth, yields and projected growth, yields and infrastructure.

You'll find that you start to narrow suburbs down as you gain more knowledge and get more familiar with them.