Increasing Portfolio

W

WebBoard

Choices
Date: 3/29/00
Time: 2:28:02 PM

Greetings all, just looking for a few opinions on my current situation.

I've been going a little berserk on the investment property scene over the past two years or so and at present things stand as such. I have 3 investment properties and a 4th currently being built & due for completion by 30.06.00.

Gross income from all 4 properties is 39K . Full debt exposure is 421K on a portfolio value of 600K (Based on conservative bank valuations) for a current LVR of 70%. Int. rates are all fixed for 5 years, shortest to mature in 3.5 years. Interest expenses are 34.3K with prop. Mangt. Exp. Of 5.8% (avg.).

The properties basically pay their own way with minimal input from me. I live rent free with friends earning 55K and have no other debts. I use depreciation and a 221D to maximise tax returns so I'm in a fairly enviable situation.

I have been sticking to a fairly strict saving regime for the past 12 months in an effort to save 35K to renovate my principal, inner city property. This plan requires 70K and I had intended to borrow half from my lender. Due to a somewhat austere lifestyle and a few speculative forays into the share market (not for the faint hearted let me tell you!), I should have very close to the required amount without having to approach my bank.

My rationale in renovating is that by spending the 70K, I will add at least 170K value to the house based on comparable sales. I have planned & costed the additions and will do the majority of work myself hence big savings. This scenario will drop my LVR to 57% and allow greater invest. flexibility with the bank.