Investing in Western Sydney

Hello!

I'm completely new to property investment and really need some advice.

I would like to spend around 350-400k on a property, probably a two bedroom unit. I want to buy in an area that will grow over the next couple years as opposed to just having a strong rental return.

I've heard a lot about Merrylands as being a good place to invest due to the proximity to parramatta and also the new stocklands shopping centre. I've also heard a bit about Harris park? Any advice or other suggestions? Do you think these suburbs in the west will have strong growth or do you think I'm better off spending a bit more and getting something closer to the city ie burwood, strathfield or Ashfield?

Also, with the craziness of the current market (properties selling for up to 20% more than market price) do you think I'm better off waiting till early next year?

Any advice would really be appreciated!

I guess I should also mention that I will have around a 50% deposit.

I'm not too sure how much of it I should use to actually put on the loan. The way I've calculated it, if I use all of my money as a deposit I could have the place being paid off by the tenants. I wouldn't have to use my work pay cheque. I was also given advice to keep maybe 100k in an offset account incase I want to buy a second property???

Because I'm young and single (no duel income) I just really don't want to get in over my head...that's really my main concern.

I guess I should also mention that I will have around a 50% deposit.

Well done for having that amount liquid available

I'm not too sure how much of it I should use to actually put on the loan. The way I've calculated it, if I use all of my money as a deposit I could have the place being paid off by the tenants. I wouldn't have to use my work pay cheque. I was also given advice to keep maybe 100k in an offset account incase I want to buy a second property???

Far more flexible to go the offset route IMO