Investing through a buyer's agent

W

WebBoard

Hi,

As I'm fairly new to the investment game, I'm thinking of going though a buyer's agent to get me started. Have any of you done this before?

If so, could you have done better if you looked for a property on your own with the limited experience that you had?

Thanks

Patrick

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

Patrick, I have never used a buyer's agent and I'll tell you why:

I think they are better suited for owner-occupiers who are fussier and probably willing to pay that little bit extra for their dream home.

Their fees are high, which eat considerably into your profit margins.

Nothing, and I mean nothing, beats your own legwork. Not only do you develop a feel for the area, but you get to talk firsthand to agents, owners, current tenants etc and you can learn a lot. Eg: streets that are highly sought after or rejected, preferred shopping centres etc. By walking/driving around, you can actually see what the area has to offer, perhaps even notice things happening that others wouldn't (new developments, shopping centre extensions, roadworks etc).

I have nothing against buyers agents but, for the investor, I believe that experience pays off. Good luck! Cheers, Jacque :)

Reply: 2

Patrick
buyers agents can be very beneficial in the purchasing process. A lot of my clients in the eastern suburbs and harbour areas of sydney have successfully used them.
Finding a good one is where the work is. Referral is the best way and call the people on their list and I had one couple even quiz the Real Estate agents and the LTO records to see if they were making up clients. Anything goes.....
At an Auction I seen one buyers agent in full flight and they can be good.
cya

Reply: 2.1

I'll repeat a concern I posted about Buyer Agents from months ago.