Investment Property - help out a young guy with some advice

Hi all,
Im new to this game and finding myself unsure of the best investment option giving the NSW govt recent tax changes.

I have never invested before, but have saved enough $ for a deposit on an investment property. I was convinced that property was a better option than other investment options but with the new changes its hard to know.

Seems logical that there may be bargains to be had as ppl rush to sell their investment properties before the 2.25% kicks in, but those that dont will hang on to theirs?

Im wondering how much of the theories discussed in Jan Somers investment properties book still hold true. If I buy a median priced appartment as an investment property in Sydney - am I making the right decision? Should I look interstate? Should I consider managed funds?

Appreciate any suggestions.
Thankyou
Chris

The decision is yours and yours alone...

I am however currently more interested in interstate properties due to their more favourable returns.

Good luck - G :D

Afternoon Christof,

If you do want to buy In NSW, I would suggest you purchase as your Place of Prime Residence (PPOR) and move out after 6 months and convert into an investment property - (while advising that the property is still your nominated PPOR).

This will give you free capital gains for 6 years.

No stamp duty payable on property under $500K - Saving you up to $18K (Based on the fact you qualify for the First Homer Policy).

This will also knock out the 2 1/4 % charge applied against all investment properties.

If you keep the property for over 6 years the cap gains tax will start to apply.

Check with ATO and your accountant before you go down this path as laws can change.

In relation to The Sydney Market, be very careful, we are seeing prices cooling and in some instances slighlty falling (Inner City Appartments are a much higher risk).