Is Australia becoming a Nanny State

Is Australia becoming a nanny state?

• Yes

Votes: 62 92.5%
  • No

Votes: 5 7.5%

• Poll closed .
I remember in 1987 we went on a family holiday/road trip. XF Falcon sedan, 2 adults, 5 kids aged 2 - 14. We had one car seat for the two y/old, 2 kids shared the middle seat, another in the back and one in the front. Luggage on the roof. Cops would deliberately not pull us over.

...and I used to lay up under the back window behind the back seat....LOL...how times have changed.

Agree with others that the kids today are whimpy....not all of course, but most.

HR Wagon, burn ur butt vinyl if u was lucky to get a seat and not relegated to the cargo compartment to slide around :)

Twas in the days when AC was for Benz and Jag, and 8 tracks were just invented

Not one to be drawn to extreme or exaggerated views. But there are two very recent examples of changes to laws which in my opinion border on an overly paternilstic approach to public policy making.

These being Foul language and Betting laws

So are we becoming a nanny state?

Thread starter regards to the offensive behavior/language

My position involves giving fines for offensive behaviour/language, obviously if someone accidentally drop's the F bomb its no hassles. But if their is a bunch of school kids around and they are verbally abusing someone at the top of their lungs using every profanity under the sun and won't stop when asked nicely then they should cop it or if someone is taking a **** on a train on the seats or something.

I honestly can't see how its a bad thing, but it depends on how it's applied obviously common sense rules (letter of the law and spirit of the law)

I don't know if you catch trains regularly or not, but their needs to be an incentive not to carry on like a total D bag. If you travel on trains abit you will see the people i'm talking about it can totally ruin a nice trip, i was travelling to work the other day and had the most disgusting fal mouth pig girls talking very loud anoying the crap out of everyone....best someone can do is relocate, if you say something to them i have seen assaults, people get stabbed over stuff like that so its not worth it

I don't really have an opinion on the betting thing, i don't partake in it myself

it's not so much the government that is a problem but too many lawyers in this country.

what we need is courts to throw out every case where there would be no case if the common sense was applied.

until that is done, there will be a breed of lawyers specialising in those type of cases, and as a consequence government needs to legislate more and more to avoid getting sued.

I honestly can't see how its a bad thing, but it depends on how it's applied obviously common sense rules (letter of the law and spirit of the law)

I don't know if you catch trains regularly or not, but their needs to be an incentive not to carry on like a total D bag. If you travel on trains abit you will see the people i'm talking about it can totally ruin a nice trip, i was travelling to work the other day and had the most disgusting fal mouth pig girls talking very loud anoying the crap out of everyone....best someone can do is relocate, if you say something to them i have seen assaults, people get stabbed over stuff like that so its not worth it

I don't really have an opinion on the betting thing, i don't partake in it myself

We don't need more silly laws, go back a few decades and you would have conductors on trains. If someone was behaving in such a way then the conductor would boot them off at the next station. Instead the silly laws we have these days favour the stupid idiot rather than common sense.

I'm not sure you can blame it all on the lawyers.

There seems to be number of bureaucrats who have not much useful to do, and try to justify their existence by spitting out ever more regulation.
The sacred area of "safety" being first in mind (VicRoads, RTA, ...), where more regulation is added without much evidence to back it up.

Absolutely we are.

How's this; every coupla months one of our customers in the workshop - and older lady who works at the local Op Shop - brings us bags and bags of rags for the boys to use on the cars.

We simply cannot use them all.

We get them because they are clothes which are donated - but don't have a dry-cleaning tgag on them, so they are not allowed to sell them.

Now, are we pathetic sooky-la-la lawyer bait or what?

I remember in 1987 we went on a family holiday/road trip. XF Falcon sedan, 2 adults, 5 kids aged 2 - 14. We had one car seat for the two y/old, 2 kids shared the middle seat, another in the back and one in the front. Luggage on the roof. Cops would deliberately not pull us over.

Perhaps the fact that a lot of road safety laws have been introduced is why the road toll has more than halved since the 1980s?

One thing I hate about the road rules though is the varying speed limits, it's 40 ... 60 ... 80 ... 40.. all along the same road! It's crazy!

Not one to be drawn to extreme or exaggerated views. But there are two very recent examples of changes to laws which in my opinion border on an overly paternilstic approach to public policy making.

These being Foul language and Betting laws

I voted no :)
Only because I think we became a nanny state a long time ago so don't agree we are becoming one.
I don't mind a bit of swearing and s**t if it's in the right f*ucken context. :D

On the betting laws though, I'll be glad to see less of that during the AFL broadcasts. Seriously, I don't bet so don't really care for it but it is getting beyond a joke when they ask for opinons from the CEO of centrebet before a game.

One tosser even had an old bookies tote board showing how the odds had changed over the last half hour....
I'm turning it on to watch footy, not a friggin horse race!!

Perhaps the fact that a lot of road safety laws have been introduced is why the road toll has more than halved since the 1980s?

Not really. Safer roads and safer cars account for most of that improvement. Of course, the over-bloated road safety industry takes credit for it. Did anybody notice how, when the road toll increases, they blame the drivers, when it goes down, they take credit :confused:? What an easy job with no accountability:rolleyes:.

Well this is just from Wikipedia:

In Victoria, Australia the use of seat belts became compulsory in 1970. By 1974 decreases of 37% in deaths and 41% in injuries, including a decrease of 27% in spinal injuries, were observed, compared with extrapolations based on pre-law trends. The Victorian legislation coincided with the oil-crises of the early 1970s, a time when traffic injuries and deaths fell in most industrialised countries.[citation needed]

By 2009, despite large increases in population and the number of vehicles, road deaths in Victoria had fallen below 300, less than a third of the 1970 level, the lowest since records were kept, and far below the per capita rate in jurisdictions such as the United States. This reduction was generally attributed to aggressive road safety campaigns beginning with the seat belt laws.

I understand the whole "individual liberty" debate, but I'm pretty happy with any law that can produce such a drastic improvement. It isn't like the death of one person only has an impact on that person when they're a mother/father/brother/sister/son/daughter etc.

I'm not too fussed with the whole swearing thing either. I'm sure Police Officers won't be issuing fines to people who swear when they stub their toe or something, I'm sure you would need to be quite drunk or violent and irate before they fined you for language.

A lot of people on this thread are in business one way or another. A lot of people here also think we are ruled by a nanny state. I think that it’s their business experience that makes them not feel they need to be governed a nanny state.

Why does real experience in business matter when it comes to not needing the state to tell you how to live?

Political judgement and artistic judgement are often said to have in common uncertainty. What is right for the situation, what is suited to the prevailing times, depends on the state of the world when the question is asked. As the world changes every day, yesterday’s answers lose their currency and new answers need to be considered, judged, and ultimately agreed upon to a significant degree by us all.

Judgemental certainty though – quite its opposite – can equally never be jettisoned: Our courts depend on code and precedent, our religions reprimand us almost unconsciously with timeless moral truths, and our parents struggle daily to raise children with unquestionable personal standards of conduct. There is no room for moral relativism in the making of a good person: We all know this for a certainty too. This is part of the the state's entitlement too.

I would suggest business experience is an education beyond measure: It is the true blending of these two basic but essential forms of judgement.

We come to business largely as people of good character into an arena of virulent competition, we challenge and we stumble, we triumph and we fall - But we don’t wage war, we don’t physically injure, and none of us sets out to lose our humanity in the endeavour. We compete fiercely, we sometimes experience loss and we sometimes experience gain - But we mostly all always constantly improve as people with every turn in our daily business-required judging of risk versus reward.

This is why our liberal-democratic form of government and society is better than any other. Not because, as Winston Churchill famously said, it’s the least worst of any since tried. Nor, as Any Rand quite as famously said, it’s the only form of society that permits properly human morality stemming from unbridled self-interest to flourish. Rather, it's because it lets us each individually learn afresh moral conduct together as we go.

In business – and, I’d go so far as to suggest, in business alone – people must be both grounded in principle and yet adaptable to new principles to survive. This is precisely why business is both so rewarding for those who participate in it and yet so challenging personally for those who really do it every single day. It requires of everyone involved a combination of both decency and desperation in the face of changing circumstances.

And, with that, we see the winners are those who make the right judgements. These are not the decisions that harm your partner or that accept you being harmed yourself, but rather the decisions that find a way for you to keep doing business together after overcoming today’s problems, working as good people.

This is what is properly called civil society: It’s a thing of true beauty autonomous of its state - dependent nonetheless on that state for its protection - but able to regulate its own affairs without the state’s undue interference. But above all it is a thing that creates autonomous people, true citizens: People who can make decisions on the run whatever the circumstances are; decisions that are simultaneously principled and pragmatic, creative and considerate, socially productive and individually financially rewarding. This is why real business experience matters. It makes people capable of making good lives independent of the nanny state.

Well this is just from Wikipedia:

In Victoria, Australia the use of seat belts became compulsory in 1970. By 1974 decreases of 37% in deaths and 41% in injuries, including a decrease of 27% in spinal injuries, were observed, compared with extrapolations based on pre-law trends. The Victorian legislation coincided with the oil-crises of the early 1970s, a time when traffic injuries and deaths fell in most industrialised countries.

Two issues worth pondering:

1. How much of the decline in death & injuries was simply due to a decline in road traffic from the oil shock of 1973? The drop in injuries is similar to the drop in traffic.

• Did anybody notice the increase death & injuries increased for cyclists, motorcyclist, & pedestrians? The main explanation for that is risk compensation: car drivers feeling safer tend to drive a little bit less carefully, injuring other road users

If you are interested in this topic, have a look at this.

This topic is far from obvious & intuitive.

This is what is properly called civil society: It’s a thing of true beauty autonomous of its state - dependent nonetheless on that state for its protection - but able to regulate its own affairs without the state’s undue interference. But above all it is a thing that creates autonomous people, true citizens: People who can make decisions on the run whatever the circumstances are; decisions that are simultaneously principled and pragmatic, creative and considerate, socially productive and individually financially rewarding. This is why real business experience matters. It makes people capable of making good lives independent of the nanny state.

Well said Belbo.
I wish you were running the country instead of the current uninspiring politicians.

Two issues worth pondering:

1. How much of the decline in death & injuries was simply due to a decline in road traffic from the oil shock of 1973? The drop in injuries is similar to the drop in traffic.

• Did anybody notice the increase death & injuries increased for cyclists, motorcyclist, & pedestrians? The main explanation for that is risk compensation: car drivers feeling safer tend to drive a little bit less carefully, injuring other road users

If you are interested in this topic, have a look at this.

This topic is far from obvious & intuitive.

Could the increase in deaths and injuries to cyclists, motorcyclists and pedestrians be a result of there being more cars on the road? I'm sure the population and number of drivers on the road increased a lot during those years. I don't think I drive more recklessly because I'm wearing a seat belt, I'm still worried about damaging my car, having to pay an excess, being late, injuring other people, annoying the person I crash into and I also don't think a selt belt will save me from death and injury in all situations.

Also weren't much of the improvements made to car safety moved forward by the government introducing regulations regarding safety standards on car manufacturers? The whole Pinto case thing?

I just find it so odd people complain about Australia being a nanny state but there is literally nothing in this country that makes me feel like I'm not "free", whereas there are plenty of regulations overseas that I would feel bothered by such as the TSA at airports in the US or some of the laws in Middle Eastern countries or Denmark banning Vegemite! We're so lucky here! I think you're all just having a bit of a whinge!

If you want to get upset about nanny states what about the issue of banning the burqa? That is one nanny state policy I'd just hate to see introduced!

Australia is one of the biggest Nanny State of them all... we also suffer from analysis paralysis, at every level of society and government.

Go to most developed countries and compare the social laws (repressions) and it is amazing how much cotton wool us Aussies are wrapped up in... Even in the US (the land of litigation) the social oppression isn't anywhere near as bad as in Oz.

We have a regulation, standard, guideline or law for almost everything!

Probably yes...we have become so arrogant that have lost touch of what other countries around us are doing.

The article below and some of the comments from people pretty much sums it up.

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/socie...ket-20110530-1fczf.html?comments=200#comments
"!

So, that article is telling us that everything is way cheaper in a third world country where people earn $5 a day? Amazing revelation that! And comunications and the internet is also better in a country one third the size of Australia, with 50 times as many poor soles crammed onto it?

I hope the author didn't get paid too much for that article.

. The other thing which bothers me is that Australians grown used to high wages for doing little. This is not sustainable...at some point this going to bite us in the ar$e.

"!

High wages come with a high standard of living in an advanced economy mate. If you don't like it, move to a third world country. High wages won't be sustainable when Australia is no longer a wealthy nation. Until then, wages will be high.

A lot of your comments on here verge on racism at times. Your always going on about useless aussie bogans and how much better and smarter Asians are. If I was saying the reverse it would be racism.

Could the increase in deaths and injuries to cyclists, motorcyclists and pedestrians be a result of there being more cars on the road? I'm sure the population and number of drivers on the road increased a lot during those years. I don't think I drive more recklessly because I'm wearing a seat belt ...

I just find it so odd people complain about Australia being a nanny state but there is literally nothing in this country that makes me feel like I'm not "free", whereas there are plenty of regulations overseas ... I think you're all just having a bit of a whinge!

During that period (1970-1974) traffic fell sharply after the oil price surge in 1973.

You need to read up a bit more about risk compensation rather than relying on personal experience.

Nothing that make you not free? That's not most people's impression. Read the online comments, that will give a much better idea about what's really going on. Because it hasn't affected you personally yet doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

Try riding a bicycle for example. You can't even do that without having to hear a nearly useless polystyrene hat that increases the risk of accidents & doesn't protect from the sun. This is another law that hasn't improved safety, yet the nanny state refuses to admit nanny made a mistake :eek:. Where are we heading with such unrestrained fools in charge of us :confused:?

Speaking of lawyers , insurances and crap. What's with all the funeral and lawyer scams on commercial TV , some channels are unbearable , they'll fill every add break 24/7.
And speaking of TV , what's with all the f'n health adds , my God what are all too stupid to even go to the damn doctors these days.
And , yep TV again , what is it with our media , they seem more nanny than the damn country and it's pollies these days and the scary part is , the average ding dong probably thinks they're being "intelligent"- if they listen to them !
And these damn program advisory 1 minute long bs, WTF. Meanwhile they're playing erection adds in the middle of the day in big red letters across the screen , during school holidays.
I was watching some American channel last night and just before they put on some blood,guts and sex, it says viewer discretion is advised , surely if they must dictate to us on what "their" opinion is of what dreaded nightmare we're about to watch has in it , that's enough .
Is there anywhere else in the world where we are treated like that ?

On a lighter note , I'd drop in to see my dad sometimes , what's on dad ? " whatever I can find with the most warnings on it " :D