Is Market Sentiment Changing

With all the recent budget news, job losses etc. I wonder whether we will see changes in the property market. I certainly see this in the Perth market, certain pockets are now starting to slow down. Its not all negative, some pockets are still rising, but its time to tread lightly IMO.

Market sentiment is huge and when we start to hear negative reports this creates fear this is a big one for property investors.

I personally think it is time to be cautious when buying. As a developer I am only buying in areas where there is still demand and also mitigating the risk by offloading at least 50% of the stock. Not bullet proof by any means but as long as I don't end up with negative cash flow I will continue to move slowly.

What are your thoughts? Here are S McKnight's summary on this which I think is pretty much spot on.

http://www.propertyinvesting.com/co...0099eab9a72def211346edceff4dc02fbdbe1fad20d72

For Sydney, i have a noticed a slowdown during easter and May, but then things seem to have bounced back lately. Am watching prices to see what is happening in the coming weeks. But from a retail perspective, things seem a lot quieter since the budget.

I'm expecting next financial year my expenses will rise quite a bit so I'm now budgeting to spend less on next PpOR.
Where I am selling seems undervalued and experienced little growth but prices are just starting to move up and I think it will continue in the short term.
Where I am buying (which is at a much higher price point) has had some good growth in the last year and certainly slowing and declining in price.
I think the suburbs with median price will hold up. More expensive suburbs $700,000 - $1,000,000 could slow down. May be a different story again though when WA stamp duty changes 1st July for FHB. I'm expecting less momentum.

Then we have clearance rates at 79 % for sydney ..

This graph shows gradually increasing clearance rates over the last few weeks