Is the Sub-Prime Crisis in US going to affect IPs in Australia ?

This is one of those major on-going issues..

What do the experts of Somersoft have to say about this ?

Hi xquiz,

im no expert, but my view is that its allready having an indirect impact:

- higher credit costs, thus higher mortagage rates
- more people going to the banks rather than low doc type lenders
- banks pand other lenders placing tighter credit controls and lending practises

all this is reducing the supply of money, thus demand ..

If the share market remains choppy...money may move away from it into property. This would obviously help on the upside for property.

What do others think?

MJK:D

That question is the million dollar question right now isn't it. But there's a lot of threads to that question. Let me spell it out in a bit of detail then give my opinon.

The real question is whether the sub-prime crisis in the US will drive the US economy into recession. US consumer spending is the backbone of their economy and so far consumer sentiment has remained bouyant despite the property market bubble and the sub-prime crisis. But the sub-prime crisis has caused a lot of balance sheet writedowns on some big lenders and is currently hurting credit rates the world over. It has spilled over into a global credit squeeze due to the lending nations (Japan, China etc) deciding that US debt instruments such as Collatoralised Debt Obligations (CDOs) are not the AAA rating they purported to be. So, they're holding onto their cash and threatening the carry trade. But this is now stabilising as the big US banks write down their assets and debt is re-priced. I think current estimates in Aus place the increased cost of borrowing on the global equity market at about 0.25% (or the cost of a single RBA rate rise).