Is this money well spent? (numbers included inside)

First of all I must say these forums are amazing. They have definitely opened my eyes to a lot that I did not know before and I have also met and spoken to a couple of really good people from here.

I am only new to this so I hope I can get some information on further cost spend that I am about to make.

I have purchased a property in Hills area NSW that has a 3 bedroom as the part of the main house and an existing extension on it with a large bedroom, shower and toilet which has about roughly 78 SQM living areas as the extension.

In it's current format it is costing me about $3620 monthly interest repayment, plus about $125 monthly insurance plus about $300 per month for water and council. That does not include the costs incurred while the property is vacant which is roughly about 3 weeks before I can tenant it. Now the rent for the property is $660 per week. Therefore per month I am roughly minus $1405 which we then divide between myself and my wife's income for tax purposes.

Now I may potentially be able to turn this attached extension into a dual occupancy (I have done some basic homework / enquirers). This costs a bit higher than a granny flat to get approved and build but allows me to turn the extension into a 2 bedroom self-contained independent living area with it's own post box and bin etc. This gets better rent and longer tenants compared to a situation where I turn it into a granny flat.

I anticipate in a bad scenario I may need about 80k in order to draw plans and get approval from council and also put in a new kitchenette, get the walls up and running, do the required plumbing etc as most of the structure is already there.