Landlord Insurance - what to look for? What other insurances necessary for IP?

Hi all,

Newbie here and very new to investment properties and everything.
My brother owns a IP here and has gone overseas for work so I've kind of inherited the responsibility of looking after it.
He's had this IP for approaching 6 months, and we haven't got any sort of insurance on it in addition to the building insurance covered by strata.

It's a 800k property and NAB have offered us landlord insurance for $315ish/year with what appears to be decent inclusions.
Before I actually sign up for this for him though, I just want to make sure that I am getting a decent deal.
The important inclusions (from my understanding) are:
Contents Cover:
Sum Insured: $30000
Limit of Legal Liability: $10,000,000
Excess applicable to claims: $400

Optional additional covers:
Rent Default and Theft by Tenant: Included
Landlord Workers Compensation: Not available
Flood Cover: Not included

Additional Excess Details:
Voluntary Excess: $200
Imposed Excess: $0
No Claim Bonus: 30%

I'm happy with no flood cover as this is an apartment in a high rise building, but it has been brought to my attention that flood cover may cover for a leaking pipe in the apartment.
Other ideas that I've come up with from this is - does landlord insurance ever cover things like the lock on a door breaking, or lets say the vanity or some pipes in the bathroom requiring replacement? I ask because we have had to shell out money for this.
What specific inclusions should I be really be looking out for? What other types of insurances would other people recommend? In fact, would anyone maybe even recommend going with another company?

Last edited:
Is the lease periodic or a term lease, for example 12 months?

Some LL policies wont cover periodic leases meaning month to month. Would be worth checking the policy NAB are offering.