Legal action against Coles, need advice

I have no experience with this sort of thing so I was hoping someone here might be able to assist.

My girlfriend went to Coles a few weeks ago, and was promptly stopped on her way out by a plain clothes security guard. He suspected her of shop lifting. English was not her first language, and apparently the ID he pulled out did not have a photo on it. Since this happened 3 days after the Sydney siege (I work literally around the block from where it happened), she was understandably anxious and ran to the Coles helpdesk to seek help. He chased after her. You can imagine she was terrified at this point.

Anyway after a thorough search of her bag and checking of her receipt, he was satisfied she hadn't stolen anything.

At first I was going to just make a complaint, but now she's scared to go back. Because of this I've decided to take legal action as I am furious.

What type of lawyer should I seek out and on what terms (pro bono?). I really have no idea where to even begin as I've never had to do something like this before.

Last edited:
Bag searches are supposed to be visual only. He cant go through her stuff inside.

You could take legal actioh but to what aim? It will cost you 50-100k to take it anywhere near court.

Your best bet is to complain to Coles who blame and give a limp wristed memo to their outsourced security mob, and send you some vouchers for your trouble. Corporate world at its finest

What is the legal issue you want to discuss? Was she assaulted or detained against her will?

And why would a lawyer do this pro bono?

What is the legal issue you want to discuss? Was she assaulted or detained against her will?

No that he chased her, terrifying the hell out of her. She was pretty distraught when she got back.