Little white lies you've told to secure a property

I've put this under psychology because it's about playing the mind game to secure a deal.

As a rule I never ever tell a REA that I'm a developer and I also tend to tell white lies. Some may be grey lies :)

Case in point.

A development site came onto the market which I wanted, the price seemed a bit high for the risk profile (a rezoner not already zoned) and I wasn't prepared to wait to see if it would come down in price as I figured there would be other people willing to pay it.

Queue the white lies. I told REA that I wanted the site to build a house that could maybe have a home office in it. Put an offer in under asking price and mentioned it was over our budget but we would put the stamp duty on our credit cards. Put a 24hr expiry on the offer as the last place we had offered on took week of stuffing around and we still didn't get it.

To the REA I was a family who wanted the site, already stretched to limit and keen to secure.

Did I get it? Yes. I offered $50k under asking price and they counter offered at $15k under. I accepted (muttering something about selling a child's kidney)

Done and dusted in 18hrs.

Sometimes I play games, sometimes I offer no information at all. I felt in this situation that I needed to engender a relationship with the REA so he could say to the owner 'look I've got this really nice family who'd like the site, prepared to make a very simple offer but can't offer full amount. The offer is less but it's a short settlement and attractive conditions. I think you should take it'

You can't really preplan this stuff. It's different every deal. You really just need to appeal to their wants/needs to get the deals across.

REA's do it all of the time with their crap about how they have 17 buyers lined up and multiple offers etc., so it's no different in our direction.

I like it though, it's a fun game :)