Maintaining cash flow while growing portfolio

Hi everyone,

Beginner here - with 0 IP's thus far :). My question is around cash flow, as I know it is one of the most important things to consider when building an investment portfolio.

When growing one's portfolio, assuming most or some of your IP's are negatively geared to some extent, how do you maintain a strong cash flow?

Is it that successful investors always find some CF+ properties to add to their portfolio? Are these difficult to find, and predetermine that they are in fact CF+ before purchasing?

If I was to continue to purchase IP's with strong growth potential, but mostly negatively geared to some extent, does this mean that I just have to do it tough (more so than if I had no IP's) for some years while my equity grows?

In that case, I imagine each IP purchase would put additional pressure on my cash flow? Even with the tax breaks, I would still be paying out 60c to the dollar in debt, which is something that worries me. I would be very concerned about having less disposable income and the potential to default on loan repayments.

Would love to know seasoned investor's strategy for keeping a strong cash-flow while continuing to invest their equity.

Thanks in advance :)
Dave

You need a mixture of both to build a portfolio quickly preferably both in the same property(think regional and definetly not Sydney atm). Equity will help you build a portfolio fast and cashflow will help service it so you can still enjoy life basically. I've been lucky all my properties have been cashflow positive from day one and gone up with equity relatively quickly=) you just need to find your niche style of investing buy and hold reno, timing the market perfectly etc. ways to boost cashflow
1. Allow pets(if not strata) people will pay more to keep their beloved animals
2. Self manage (Only if you have the time though) this is more of a risk though
3. Spruce the place up (simple paint job and small maitence problems can help