Matte or gloss tiles?

Hi gang, we are building a couple of mid-high spec homes and are a bit stuck with our ideas for tiling in the non-wet areas. These are a little higher spec than those we have previously done, and we are torn between 600*600 gloss, or matte. My wife thinks Matte are much harder to clean, but I am not convinced. I know gloss is a bit more striking on first impression, but from my experience glossy tiles are a b*stard to keep clean. I have no experience with Matte finish.

We are not interested in wood or fake wood.

What are your thoughts?

I like the look of a gloss tile, and they can look fantastic, but I'd hate to be cleaning them. I reckon they would show every little scuff mark, badly wiped up spills, bad mopping efforts.

When we did our bathroom a few months ago, we used the same tiles that we used on our downstairs living area. It is a matt tile but has specks of gloss in it, almost like the tiles are a bit wet (hard to describe). They look a bit like a polished concrete tile.

It is a rectified tile so the joints are seen but the grout doesn't get dirty.

I'm almost embarrassed to admit it, but I've mopped our bathroom floor once since it has been down. They don't get "dirty" as such but I used to have to mop the old plain colour tiles at least once a week, and really it should have been more regular. Every hair, every bit of dust, every bit of fluff off the toilet roll showed on the floor.

I LOVE my new tiles.

It might not the look you are after, but compared to a plain colour, or gloss tile, this almost matt tile finish is my pick. We also went with matt finish wall tile too and they hide the soap marks, the badly wiped down tile marks.

I'll use them again any day over the gloss wall tiles we used to have.

Hi Wylie tell me about it mate! We have gloss white tiles presently and have a choc and gold lab, who unfortunately are used to the good life as inside dogs.