Melbourne house with land - where to buy?

I'm completely new to melbourne, I am from Sydney but I want to buy in Melb because I've reached my NSW land tax threshold. Looking at house with land for around 600k-700k. I know I can enter that into realestate.com.au and view by map but I would like some suggestions if you have any.

Some considerations:

1) shape of Melbourne differs from Sydney, there's more coastline and a 270 degree spread around the CBD so it seems like there are many more suburbs that are relatively close to the CBD compared to Sydney - would I be correct to think that the good buys are the ones that are close to the CBD but priced lower than other same-distance suburbs?

2) Is it better to buy something close to the water like around Hampton area or something close to the CBD but away from the water?

3) what sort of ethnic communities are heavy in which regions of Melbourne?

4) where are the good train lines that go to the CBD? e.g. in Sydney the western line from Parramatta to Central is very fast, so your commute from Parra to CBD is actually faster than say if you were going to the city from bankstown.

EDIT: 5) I'd love an opportunity to meet up with a local investor while I'm here in Melb for the next few days (till Sunday 28/9) Shoot me a PM or reply with detials on how to get in touch. I can go anywhere.

Last edited:
1. maybe - but house with land will be pretty scarce in that price range within 15km of cbd (depending on how much land you are after)

2. opinions vary - but by the water is generally more pricey.

3. Maybe look at http://www.censusdata.abs.gov.au/ce...1/quickstat/208011172?opendocument&navpos=220 and pump in different postcodes.

4. Bascially any train line will do, There are also suburbs serviced by bus.

The Y-man