My first CIP

I have just exchanged on my first CIP this week so I thought that I would take this opportunity to share some details about the process to this stage, and also the steps and developments to completion (and beyond). I have no experience in CIP previously and am actually fairly inexperienced when it comes to RIP even, so this is definitely an example of just jumping in and learning from doing. What I did have was access to some amazing stories on this forum of other people's experience, these were absolute invaluable and I can't thank those posters enough for their generosity in sharing their experience. Therefore, I thought that it's only fair if I do the same thing, plus this would be an opportunity for other more experienced posters to point out anything that may have missed/overlooked as the deal progress to completion. Additionally, I'm hoping to be able to replicate this with bigger CIP deals in the future, so documenting this first CIP deal will hopefully be a good learning experience for me as well.

Anyway enough of my ramblings, I'm sure you would rather hear about the CIP itself.

Property
- CBD of a regional town (50k population)
- Sub 500k price
- Simple building, with a reception area, offices, kitchen + bathroom facilities at the front and an old tin shed at the back
- Currently occupied by a electrician business that has been there for the past 20 years

Vendor's situation
- Currently a partner in the business but is looking to retire in 3 years
- As part of the sale, vendor has offered that the business lease back the CIP for 3 years to coincide with the vendor's retirement

Lease
There is no formal lease currently in place, therefore, the lease and lease conditions were all negotiable as part of the sale (lease to come into effect on Settlement date). After a fair bit of negotiation (more details to come), these were the terms that were agreed to.
- 3 years term with option of 3 years