My first IP in Brisbane

Hey guys, my first post on here, so far I have read a lot of interesting information so thank you.

I am looking to buy my first PI in Brisbane. I would eventually like to buy two houses (minimum 3 bedrooms 15km to 25km from CBD) and do some kind of renovations like bathroom, kitchen, floor, etc. My idea is do part of the job myself and look for a professional just to install the new kitchen/bathroom.

We have about $100,000 for a deposit and our monthly salary is 16000aud together. I am an IT contractor and my wife is a nurse.

What would you recommend as the best way to start?

I am thinking of purchasing a first house (around 300k - 350k) and a second one (around 250k -300k) and refresh both of them and after rent. My expectation is rent both houses for approximate $300-$350 p/w each house. Around $600-$700 weekly.

Does this sound feasible?

I am open to all ideas and suggestions!!!

Thanks you in advance.

Hi Dominican,

Sounds like you have good borrowing power. What you mention is definitely possible. Only thing I would say is make sure you know what your goals are, timeframes , financial situation etc and then decide which is the best course of action to take that will most likely get you to your goal fastest.

Just because someone can buy something for X amount and rent it for X amount, doesn't necessarily mean its going to be the best potential for achieving their overall goals (any I'm not saying your idea isn't). Just make sure its the best/most likely course that will get you closer to your goals, and not just 1 of many courses you financially are capable of doing.

Well done on your start mate!

Good luck

Leo