My Reno

Purchased this property in Melbourne early December 2013. I had no intention of purchasing at the time but this property caught my eye as I could see the potential.

Property was going to auction and had basically 3 weeks to organise finance. With the help of Jamie from Pass Go Home loans he was able to approve finance in very little time and notice. (Still don't know how he done it)

Long story short, won auction and over the past 5 months in between work renovated the house. The plan is to build a 3 bedroom unit at the back of the property in the near future.

Below are some figures:

Purchase price $582,000

Renovation cost $20,200

Rented out for $430 per week

Bank valuation $645,000 (although a similar house sold last week on a main road in very poor condition for $615K.)

Renovations included:

• Restumping
  • Total gut out of laundry and bathroom
  • Rebuild laundry walls and extend bathroom wall
  • Add second toilet in bathroom (main toilet is in laundry)
  • Replaster bathroom and laundry walls and ceiling
  • New vinyl wrap kitchen with laminate bench top
  • New bathroom with 900mm shower, bathtub, 900mm vanity and toilet
  • Removed wall in dining area to combine dining and lounge into one (beam in roof)
  • New floor tiles through out except bedrooms.
  • New carpet for bedrooms
  • Built in robes for 3 bedrooms
  • Painted inside including wood work.
  • Painted exterior weatherboards
  • Repointed and resprayed roof tiles.
  • New lighting for kitchen and dining / lounge area
  • New spilt system
  • Replaced 7 windows with more modern ones (kitchen, dining, lounge, laundry and bathroom)
  • Removes HWS from laundry and now located outside

Below are some "Before" Photos. My Photography skills aren't the best.:eek:

The following post will contain "After" Photos.

• 10764523.jpg
    10764523.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 281
  • 12884086.jpg
    12884086.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 248
  • 18637820.jpg
    18637820.jpg
    31.6 KB · Views: 252
  • 17797800.jpg
    17797800.jpg
    3.5 KB · Views: 529
  • PC130566.jpg
    PC130566.jpg
    91.9 KB · Views: 250
Some "after" photos

• 20140507_085139.jpg
    20140507_085139.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 200
  • 20140507_084849.jpg
    20140507_084849.jpg
    98.3 KB · Views: 203
  • 20140507_084907.jpg
    20140507_084907.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 197
  • 20140507_085429.jpg
    20140507_085429.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 187
  • 20140507_085225.jpg
    20140507_085225.jpg
    90.8 KB · Views: 175
More "after" photos

• 20140507_085808.jpg
    20140507_085808.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 159
  • 20140507_085335.jpg
    20140507_085335.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 143
  • 20140507_090012.jpg
    20140507_090012.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 150
  • 20140507_085447.jpg
    20140507_085447.jpg
    92.3 KB · Views: 153
Some "during" photos.

• PC150573.jpg
    PC150573.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 102
  • PC230575.jpg
    PC230575.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 101
  • PC150569.jpg
    PC150569.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 98
  • PC280579.jpg
    PC280579.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 92
Property was going to auction and had basically 3 weeks to organise finance. With the help of Jamie from Pass Go Home loans he was able to approve finance in very little time and notice. (Still don't know how he done it)

With my special finance nerd powers :)

Well done! The place looks awesome!

Jamie

That is a great effort!

I am contemplating some fairly serious renovation but finding it hard to gauge prices.

If you don't mind, what were the price breakdowns on the renovation list mentioned?

Thanks handmer. I actually don't have costs break down because I done all the work myself. If you tell me which items you would like a price on I can give you a rough idea what it cost me.

Fair enough, I plan to do the same so that actually good!

How much did these set you back? I appreciate your help.

New 7 Windows?
New Kitchen?
New Bathroom?
Floor Tiling?

Floor tiling $1100 - includes tiles and glue.

Windows were free. Was at the right place at the right time. A guy was throwing them out. They are cedar. Retail would be $400 each.

Kitchen cost me $2500. Canopy and sink $360.
Oven was free.

Bathroom cost me $2300k. Includes re plaster as I had to total gut the room including floor.

wow Hodge, looks fantastic!! well done!!

I'm contemplating some reno work in the near future for a 3br brick veneer house and a 2br unit, both currently in original condition. I've put them off for years ... but I think I need to just bite my tongue and get started.

So it took 5 months for you to do all this on your own?? You didn't use any contractors? Have you done reno's before? Are you a tradie? Any resources (books, forums, contractors etc) you can recommend?

You quoted $20k for the reno job. Is that just for materials? Did you factor in your labour in that number?

Where did you buy your materials for kitchen and bathroom? Did you source everything yourself?

thanks heaps in advance and congrats again on achieving such a great result!

Having read your post carefully this time, I see that you took 5 months to finish the reno. Any reason who you did not use tradies to get the job done quicker, so as to rent out the place early.

To be honest wasn't in a hurry. Plus I can't bring myself to hire trades when I know I can do it myself. If I didn't have to work I'd be finished within 3 months. Re stumping was a bugger of a job.

Would you believe it only took 1 full day to find a tenant?

wow Hodge, looks fantastic!! well done!!

I'm contemplating some reno work in the near future for a 3br brick veneer house and a 2br unit, both currently in original condition. I've put them off for years ... but I think I need to just bite my tongue and get started.

So it took 5 months for you to do all this on your own?? You didn't use any contractors? Have you done reno's before? Are you a tradie? Any resources (books, forums, contractors etc) you can recommend?

You quoted $20k for the reno job. Is that just for materials? Did you factor in your labour in that number?

Where did you buy your materials for kitchen and bathroom? Did you source everything yourself?

thanks heaps in advance and congrats again on achieving such a great result!

Yes did everything myself except re point roof and lay carpet.

I'm a cabinet maker by trade so all the kitchen materials were through my suppliers. Bathroom materials through eBay and bunnings.

The $20k is just materials. I didn't factor in Labour because it was done in my own time. Plus I was off work for the Christmas break so would have just been watching tv.

Best way to learn is through experience and this forum.

Great work Hodge. Out of interest are you willing to reveal the suburb you did this in?

I am in Melbourne and planning ahead could be looking to do something similar in about 12 months (budget wise, $550k-$600k potentially) but try and live in while doing the reno's. Looks like you got a lot done on a great budget. Don't think I could bring myself to try and restump a place myself though!