Neg's with stubborn banks!

Hi guys,

I am still fairly new to this game so need advice if anyone has had this eperience.

I am negotiating on a property. Totally trashed inside but a thing of beauty from the outside.

It is a mortgagee sale listed for 140k.

I am happy to pay this as its still very cheap but would obviously rather pay less.

My first offer of 120k was rejected and the counter offer was 139k :eek: wtf right!

The agent said the banks will not negotiate as the valuation came in at 140k. Its been my experience that the banks will still negotiate lower so I am puzzled as to their stubborness?

I upped my offer to 122k initially but they again rejected and wouldn't go lower.

So I upped again to 130k this arvo but stating I wouldn't go higher - and the reason for upping is because the rent will be much higher than I thought (240-250 I thought and 280-300 was rent appraisal.)

I know it will be gone soon if it sits on the market as it is quite hot now - so don't want to lose it - and it is easily the most compelling buy - interior just scares people I think.

How would the experienced forumites deal with this one?

James

Yes they won't budge on it. That is one of 100s of properties in possession...they know someone else will come around eventually. Plus, as twobobsworth said, they have to get at least the valuation price for the mortgagor to avoid getting sued.

Oh right - didn't think of that.

Further info - property was passed in a month ago at 110ish.

So the market is clearly telling them the price is too high right?

What would it take for them to come down?

Back in the old days when a mortgagee took possession of a property they could do with it as they pleased. In fact, the excess didn't even have to go to the mortgagor.

However, now with the intervention of the law etc they have to take into account the interest of the mortgagor. Although it is unlikely the mortgagor would have any equity left after all the fees/charges etc are paid out.